Ratings and Reviews by Max Fog

View this member's profile

Show reviews only | ratings only
View this member's reviews by tag: IFComp 2023
Showing All | Show by Page


The Locked Room, by Chris Schneider

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Simple escape room (am I missing something?), March 1, 2024

Like the title says, this game appears to be a simple escape room.

Also as the title suggests, I feel as if I'm missing something very important.

Apparently there is some riddle involved, but I didn't see through to that. The game is heavily riddled (no pun intended) with severe implementation issues (objects still described in a location once they've moved, a door you can't open even once unlocked ["That's not something you can open." It's a door.] and the only exit to the south, "you can't go that way.")

Unfortunately, there seemed to be nothing to do. I wondered if it had some relation to the "see what you saw and saw the table to get a hole" riddle, but not as far as I know.

Like I said, this could be an awesome game, but I didn't get too see it due to lack of ideas on what to do, and annoying implementation that put me off very strongly.

Was this review helpful to you?   Yes   No   Remove vote  
More Options

 | View comments (2) - Add comment 

You Are Standing, by Aaron A. Reed
Max Fog's Rating:

A Change in the Weather, by Andrew Plotkin
Max Fog's Rating:

God Cursed, by Lunan
Max Fog's Rating:

SPY INTRIGUE, by furkle
Max Fog's Rating:

Three-Card Trick, by Chandler Groover
Max Fog's Rating:

A Mind Forever Voyaging, by Steve Meretzky
Max Fog's Rating:

A Long Way to the Nearest Star, by SV Linwood
Max Fog's Rating:

Blue Lacuna, by Aaron A. Reed
Max Fog's Rating:

The Gostak, by Carl Muckenhoupt
Max Fog's Rating:

Worldsmith, by Ade McT
Max Fog's Rating:

JELLY, by Tom Lento, Chandler Groover
Max Fog's Rating:

Tavern Crawler, by Josh Labelle
Max Fog's Rating:

Teatime with a Vampire, by manonamora
Max Fog's Rating:

Lost Pig, by Admiral Jota
Max Fog's Rating:

After the Accident, by Amanda Walker
Max Fog's Rating:

The Dying of the Light, by Amanda Walker
Max Fog's Rating:

What Heart Heard Of, Ghost Guessed, by Amanda Walker
Max Fog's Rating:

Spellbreaker, by Dave Lebling
Max Fog's Rating:

Bee, by Emily Short
Max Fog's Rating:

Trail Stash, by Andrew Schultz

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Fight & Lun, February 18, 2024
by Max Fog
Related reviews: IFComp 2023

I enjoyed the idea of this game, but I didn’t feel it fully lived up to its expectations. Although the puzzles were definitely good and worked, I think it soon exhausted me. But very fun, maybe try and mix things up a little more, also maybe a little bit longer, but I thoroughly enjoyed what was there very much!

Song: I couldn’t find something that fully fits (also since not many of Radiohead’s songs are very goofy and lighthearted in the way this one is), but I found Permanent Daylight. Not my favourite song by far, unfortunately, and this game is very good, but the line “With your head on backwards” gave me the flipping-letters vibe.

Was this review helpful to you?   Yes   No   Remove vote  
More Options

 | Add a comment 

Border Zone, by Marc Blank
Max Fog's Rating:

little, by chandler groover
Max Fog's Rating:

Down, the Serpent and the Sun, by Chandler Groover
Max Fog's Rating:

Open That Vein, by Chandler Groover
Max Fog's Rating:

Map, by Ade McT
Max Fog's Rating:

A Rope of Chalk, by Ryan Veeder
Max Fog's Rating:

Christminster, by Gareth Rees
Max Fog's Rating:

Babel, by Ian Finley
Max Fog's Rating:

Inside the Facility, by Arthur DiBianca
Max Fog's Rating:

Bogeyman, by Elizabeth Smyth
Max Fog's Rating:

Color the Truth, by mathbrush
Max Fog's Rating:

Memory Lane, by ComSha
Max Fog's Rating:

En Garde, by Jack Welch
Max Fog's Rating:

Byzantine Perspective, by Lea Albaugh
Max Fog's Rating:

Zork Zero, by Steve Meretzky

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
I dunno about your reviews - I like it, January 25, 2024

Look, I get what you guys have said - but seriously, the game is not that bad (personally, at least). Puzzles are very Meretzky-style: the puzzles are funny, make little sense, but still, it followed the Zorian rule. Every Zork game has countless empty rooms (which many of you complained about) - these add to the feel of the game and *also* very Meretzky!

The classic puzzles - sure, overused, but put to good use. Towers of Hanoi (which is the only one I think didn't need to move to the left *and* the right - but they were fresh and funny.

I get what all of you are saying, but there is much to enjoy in this enormous, crazy game - and they didn't need much reliance on the original (except a little too many Flathead jokes).

Was this review helpful to you?   Yes   No   Remove vote  
More Options

 | Add a comment 

Trouble in Sector 471, by Arthur DiBianca
Max Fog's Rating:

Hana Feels, by Gavin Inglis
Max Fog's Rating:

Sugarlawn, by Mike Spivey
Max Fog's Rating:

Delightful Wallpaper, by Andrew Plotkin ('Edgar O. Weyrd')
Max Fog's Rating:

Plundered Hearts, by Amy Briggs
Max Fog's Rating:

Wishbringer, by Brian Moriarty
Max Fog's Rating:

Fallen London, by Failbetter Games
Max Fog's Rating:

Sorcerer, by Steve Meretzky
Max Fog's Rating:

Gun Mute, by C.E.J. Pacian
Max Fog's Rating:

The Lurking Horror, by Dave Lebling
Max Fog's Rating:

Enchanter, by Marc Blank, Dave Lebling
Max Fog's Rating:

And Then You Come to a House Not Unlike the Previous One, by B.J. Best
Max Fog's Rating:

The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, by Douglas Adams and Steve Meretzky
Max Fog's Rating:

With Those We Love Alive, by Porpentine and Brenda Neotenomie
Max Fog's Rating:

Dr Ludwig and the Devil, by SV Linwood

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
HA HA HA!! Another perfect game to test on!, January 25, 2024
by Max Fog
Related reviews: IFComp 2023

Everything was watertight. Even more so than the Devil’s contract. There were very little mistakes (other than a missing full stop for the appropriate “That was not in my sight!”). Other than that, everything felt perfectly designed and created, and nothing was missing. Puzzles clever, descriptions funny and consistent. If only it were longer!

Song: Certainly My Iron Lung. The former has that gothic ‘creepiness’ that it’s basing everything off, also with the lyrics quite “I’ll show them all!” (read the meaning behind the song to kind of understand). (Definitely a top song & top game.)

Was this review helpful to you?   Yes   No   Remove vote  
More Options

 | Add a comment 

Zozzled, by Steph Cherrywell
Max Fog's Rating:

Midnight. Swordfight., by Chandler Groover
Max Fog's Rating:

Alias 'The Magpie', by J. J. Guest
Max Fog's Rating:

Spider and Web, by Andrew Plotkin
Max Fog's Rating:

Absence of Law, by mathbrush
Max Fog's Rating:

The Magpie Takes the Train, by Mathbrush
Max Fog's Rating:

Grooverland, by Mathbrush
Max Fog's Rating:

Hand Me Down, by Brett Witty
Max Fog's Rating:

Eat the Eldritch, by Olaf Nowacki
Max Fog's Rating:

To Sea in a Sieve, by J. J. Guest
Max Fog's Rating:

Assembly, by Ben Kirwin

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
I know everyone's at: IKEA!, January 1, 2024
by Max Fog
Related reviews: IFComp 2023

This game is very, very fun. I liked the creating of different objects in certain places to get past obstacles, and the weird cultists! When writing this, I admit I haven’t finished, but I did have to use hints. It was a very fun idea, and I plan to finish it.
Song: A mix of 2+2=5 and Fake Plastic Trees’ music video. The cluttered idea of “two plus two always makes up five” has the weird contraption jumble of the game, and I have to admit I wasn’t “paying attention” for much of the game. The music video for Fake Plastic Trees has that shop vibe, and it starts quite happy, so that’s why.

Was this review helpful to you?   Yes   No   Remove vote  
More Options

 | Add a comment 

The Little Match Girl 4: Crown of Pearls, by Ryan Veeder
Max Fog's Rating:

The Little Match Girl 3: The Escalus Manifold, by Ryan Veeder
Max Fog's Rating:

Repeat the Ending, by Drew Cook
Max Fog's Rating:

Never Gives Up Her Dead, by Mathbrush
Max Fog's Rating:

Coloratura, by Lynnea Glasser
Max Fog's Rating:

9:05, by Adam Cadre
Max Fog's Rating:

Fail-Safe, by Jon Ingold
Max Fog's Rating:

All Things Devours, by half sick of shadows
Max Fog's Rating:

Draculaland, by Robin Johnson
Max Fog's Rating:

Photopia, by Adam Cadre
Max Fog's Rating:

Bureaucracy, by Douglas Adams, The Staff of Infocom
Max Fog's Rating:

Suspended, by Michael Berlyn
Max Fog's Rating:

Curses, by Graham Nelson
Max Fog's Rating:

Jigsaw, by Graham Nelson
Max Fog's Rating:

The Gift of What You Notice More, by Xavid and Zan

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
I hope I noticed everything, because I wish there was more, November 6, 2023
by Max Fog
Related reviews: IFComp 2023

A game about a break up. With interesting animals reflecting your thoughts. A beautiful piece, with nice writing. This game has brought me to the final conclusion that Twine games can also be awesome!

Song: Faust Arp. Short but beautifully written.

Was this review helpful to you?   Yes   No   Remove vote  
More Options

 | Add a comment 

Beat Witch, by Robert Patten

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Woah., November 6, 2023
by Max Fog
Related reviews: IFComp 2023

A crazy story with some extremely vivid moments (the bridge of bodies, falling, and the immediate aftermath with LIVE. I loved that.) and a strong sense of madness to it. Unfortunately I didn’t understand the whole bit from the eating of the headphones to the bridge (who was that other person? What was actually happening?) but overall pretty good.
An extra bonus point for the US Government speech. That was really, really good and I think people need to read it. It gives off a strong vibe with lots of meaning: people who have been born with no voice in the world (no say in what they can do), and are not even treated like people because others know they have the power to fight back.

Song: Paranoid Android. Personally my favourite song. Some of the lyrics relate really well.

Was this review helpful to you?   Yes   No   Remove vote  
More Options

 | Add a comment 

Planetfall, by Steve Meretzky
Max Fog's Rating:

Stationfall, by Steve Meretzky
Max Fog's Rating:

Hollywood Hijinx, by Dave Anderson, Liz Cyr-Jones
Max Fog's Rating:

Shogun, by James Clavell, Dave Lebling
Max Fog's Rating:

Eat Me, by Chandler Groover
Max Fog's Rating:

Violet, by Jeremy Freese
Max Fog's Rating:

Trinity, by Brian Moriarty
Max Fog's Rating:

Tricks of light in the forest, by Pseudavid

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Not just tricky - also mesmerising , October 6, 2023
by Max Fog
Related reviews: IFComp 2023

This game I really enjoyed. Long, interesting messages in a gruescript parser, it was interesting and peaceful. I liked the story and background, as well as the setting. It was very clever.

... And that's literally all I have to say.

Song: There, There. Plus some I Might Be Wrong.

Was this review helpful to you?   Yes   No   Remove vote  
More Options

 | Add a comment 

Lake Starlight, by SummersViaEarth

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Maybe better than I considered, but still..., October 6, 2023
by Max Fog
Related reviews: IFComp 2023

This game has a nice premise, with you being sent off the camp by your grandmother. Classic. However, this one takes it differently, in a more Camp Half-Blood way.

Don't get me wrong, it isn't *awful* or anything at all, but I got tired of it quickly, because the writing goes on, and on. It repeats itself, or the conversations become too distracting, which means I skip ahead and miss stuff. A little bit of cutting would help a lot.

Song: Lotus Flower. The game has a more pop-y relation to what the song would be, but not an absolutely great song, although still peaceful and melodic.

Was this review helpful to you?   Yes   No   Remove vote  
More Options

 | Add a comment 

How Prince Quisborne the Feckless Shook His Title, by John Ziegler

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Prince Quisborne really shook the "feckless"!, October 6, 2023
by Max Fog
Related reviews: IFComp 2023

I beta tested this game, but that doesn't change how I feel about this game!

Now, this game is a massive, puzzly exploration through a highly detailed, fun fantasy world. I love this game. The puzzles are neat, the hints work fully, and so on. Plus, the coming-of-age story and the endless description add to a feeling of a world without stop, much like our world - but countless times more beautiful.

Song: There, There (The Boney King of Nowhere).

Was this review helpful to you?   Yes   No   Remove vote  
More Options

 | Add a comment 

Into The Lion's Mouth, by Metalflower

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
And what a mouth this lion has, October 6, 2023
by Max Fog
Related reviews: IFComp 2023

Personally, this was not one of my favourite games, but it was still interesting. The way you kept going forward and backward between states left me confused, which if it was purposeful, it was very clever. However, if it was NOT… then it was not my favourite at all. Very exclamation marks-heavy and nervous as well (which isn’t bad, just a note).

Song: Trans-Atlantic Drawl.

Was this review helpful to you?   Yes   No   Remove vote  
More Options

 | Add a comment 

Counterfeit Monkey, by Emily Short
Max Fog's Rating:

Aisle, by Sam Barlow
Max Fog's Rating:

The Impossible Bottle, by Linus Åkesson
Max Fog's Rating:

Finding Martin, by G.K. Wennstrom
Max Fog's Rating:

Zork N plus 9, by Sonny Rae Tempest
Max Fog's Rating:

Anchorhead, by Michael Gentry
Max Fog's Rating:

The Wizard Sniffer, by Buster Hudson
Max Fog's Rating:

Cragne Manor, by Ryan Veeder, Jenni Polodna et al.
Show other authorsAdam Whybray, Adri, Andrew Plotkin, Andy Holloway, Austin Auclair, Baldur Brückner, Ben Collins-Sussman, Bill Maya, Brian Rushton, Buster Hudson, Caleb Wilson, Carl Muckenhoupt, Chandler Groover, Chris Jones, Christopher Conley, Damon L. Wakes, Daniel Ravipinto, Daniel Stelzer, David Jose, David Petrocco, David Sturgis, Drew Mochak, Edward B, Emily Short, Erica Newman, Feneric, Finn Rosenløv, Gary Butterfield, Gavin Inglis, Greg Frost, Hanon Ondricek, Harkness Munt, Harrison Gerard, Ian Holmes, Ivan Roth, Jack Welch, Jacqueline Ashwell, James Eagle, Jason Dyer, Jason Lautzenheiser, Jason Love, Jeremy Freese, Joey Jones, Joshua Porch, Justin de Vesine, Justin Melvin, Katherine Morayati, Kenneth Pedersen, Lane Puetz, Llew Mason, Lucian Smith, Marco Innocenti, Marius Müller, Mark Britton, Mark Sample, Marshal Tenner Winter, Matt Schneider, Matt Weiner, Matthew Korson, Michael Fessler, Michael Gentry, Michael Hilborn, Michael Lin, Mike Spivey, Molly Ying, Monique Padelis, Naomi Hinchen, Nate Edwards, Petter Sjölund, Q Pheevr, Rachel Spitler, Reed Lockwood, Reina Adair, Riff Conner, Roberto Colnaghi, Rowan Lipkovits, Sam Kabo Ashwell, Scott Hammack, Sean M. Shore, Shin, Wade Clarke, Zach Hodgens, Zack Johnson
Max Fog's Rating:

Leather Goddesses of Phobos, by Steve Meretzky
Max Fog's Rating:

I Am Prey, by Joey Tanden
Max Fog's Rating:

The Impossible Stairs, by Mathbrush
Max Fog's Rating:

Zeppelin Adventure, by Robin Johnson
Max Fog's Rating:

Arthur, by Bob Bates
Max Fog's Rating:

Starcross, by Dave Lebling
Max Fog's Rating:

Zork I, by Marc Blank and Dave Lebling
Max Fog's Rating:

Night House, by Bitter Karella
Max Fog's Rating:


Showing All | Show by Page