Ratings and Reviews by Felix Pleșoianu

View this member's profile

Show reviews only | ratings only
View this member's reviews by tag: French IFComp 2008 IF Comp 2015
Showing All | Show by Page


The Wizard's Castle, by Joseph R. Power

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
A genre-adjacent cult classic, April 26, 2022
by Felix Pleșoianu (Bucharest, Romania)

I'm not sure The Wizard's Castle counts as interactive fiction. Rather, it's a text-based RPG with a keyword parser. If anything, it has more in common with Super Star Trek on the one hand, and roguelikes on the other. Prose is nothing to write home about either, though it makes an honest effort to set the mood thought ambient messages. The Z-Machine port is arguably an abuse thereof, since any story is going to be emergent, and only happen in the player's mind. Rules resemble those in Eamon, a game of similar vintage and origin, though much more popular and influential.

Still, it's easy to see why The Wizard's Castle also became a cult classic. Worth a try.


Castle of Doom, by Bad Dog Studios

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Gothic fantasy and simple fun, June 15, 2021
by Felix Pleșoianu (Bucharest, Romania)

You learn something new every day. For example, that people still made games in TADS 2 as late as 2015. Or that the same TADS 2 has a CYOA library. Good to know!

As for the game itself, it's a light romp cobbled together from Gothic horror cliches with a sprinkling of generic fantasy. It's a short game with little text, well-suited for a kid for example. Surprise deaths abound, but "undo" works. Choices are mostly well-clued however, more so than in other similar games, so that shouldn't be an issue. Supposedly it's replayable, too, but I didn't try.

And that's about all there is to say about Castle of Doom, but you know what? Sometimes a light snack is the best thing. Just don't expect more.


English Suburban Garden, by Cedric Knight
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

The Cave, by Neil Aitken
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

A Hobbit Trek, by Crispin
A flawed tribute, June 4, 2020
by Felix Pleșoianu (Bucharest, Romania)

This is a game very much in the spirit of the original Hobbit. You know the one. Too bad that means lots of sudden deaths with no way to undo. Implementation is also sparse, with no synonyms (I can't call the seedcake a cake? Seriously?) and flat rejection when I try to simply use an object: a standard verb in Quest, that the game puts on the context menu of everything. At least try to give me a hint or something.

On the plus side, and this is a big plus, the game is very easy to navigate in the opening area at least, providing a good sense of geography; you won't need a map. It also stands on its own, with a slightly parodic tone but otherwise a good theme and love for the source material.

Sadly, that's not enough to make it a decent game in my book. Maybe if I could play from a walkthrough.


Wizard's Magic, by Daniel Gunnell
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Goldilocks is a FOX!, by J. J. Guest
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Moon-Shaped, by Jason Ermer
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Get Lost!, by S. Woodson
The fae in our lives, May 24, 2020
by Felix Pleșoianu (Bucharest, Romania)

This is a game that speaks to me, with meaningful choices that make sense for a change (and replayable too, despite the shortness). A portal fantasy done right, familiar and exotic at the same time, that invites dreaming of more. A story that doesn't overstay its welcome, tense but not cringey, and dramatic for the right reasons. That's a rare blend, one I'll be sure to savor a while longer. Try it, maybe.


Voices, by Aris Katsaris
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Visualizing, by Marnie Parker
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Intro to Jabberwocky, by Gregory Weir
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

The Legend of the Missing Hat, by Adri

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Simple pleasures in interactive fiction, May 17, 2020
by Felix Pleșoianu (Bucharest, Romania)

Why can't more story games be like Legend of the Missing Hat? With light prose, no drama and cuteness everywhere, it's still a joy to replay eight years after release: truly a healing story, as I heard them called recently. It also does the "small protagonist in a human-scale home" trope very well, something not many others can claim. Too bad it's not a little bit longer, but then maybe that would have ruined the magic.

Oh by the way: this game is a very good fit for mobile devices. Try it out!


A Bear's Night Out, by David Dyte
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

They Perished, by Bret Sepulveda
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

RPG-ish, by Stuart Lilford
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

why is this dragon so fucking cute??, by nadia nova
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Get Seen Tonight, by Hannah Powell-Smith
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Nootropic Wonderland, by Sasha Lea Griffin

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Twinkle, twinkle, little LED, April 2, 2017
by Felix Pleșoianu (Bucharest, Romania)

For some reason, Alice in Wonderland tends to inspire dark, gritty reinterpretations, like Tim Burton's film adaptation, or the acclaimed Alice is Dead series of room escape games. Perhaps it's what people read between the lines of the original -- and perhaps it's better that way, because straight adaptations have been historically just bizarre and/or bland.

Nootropic Wonderland is a linear (and seemingly unfinished) Twine that needs another round of proofreading, but these are minor quibbles. More importantly, it's a cyberpunk take on the story, which could be great if it was either less generic or else took itself less seriously. I'm afraid simply rehashing 35-year-old tropes doesn't quite cut it in 2017, especially when there's no substance to back them up. Why are people so afraid of the patrolling drones with their searchlights? Is police brutal? Is there supposed to be a curfew at night? Or maybe they're just a symbol of the uncaring rich people living atop those silvery spires while the street crumbles? At least a gang beating up on anyone passing by, human or android, could be explained as a show of force that announces bigger trouble -- as the ending, such as it is, in fact seems to suggest.

But that's very little to go by. The story needs to be seriously fleshed out, and could use a little interactivity as well. Even just being able to click on things and get progressively detailed descriptions before moving on would help a lot. Luckily it seems to be a work in progress, so that's not out of the question, hopefully. Until then, take with a grain of salt.


ANATIDAEPHOBIA, by Peregrine Wade
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Draculaland, by Robin Johnson
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Detectiveland, by Robin Johnson
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Ventilator, by Peregrine Wade
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Point Blank Blank, by Christopher Huang
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Mustard, Music, and Murder, by Christopher Huang
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Click Faggot, by Christopher Kinniburgh

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
A harsh reality, April 19, 2016
by Felix Pleșoianu (Bucharest, Romania)

Personal games have become increasingly popular as of late, due to a couple of factors: one, the democratization of accessible authoring tools, and two -- an increasing awareness throughout society of the fact that issues like bullying and depression are real, serious and all too widespread. These are exactly the issues Click Faggot is dealing with, as a slice of life covering a few years of a young man's struggle. It can be painful to play through; these aren't fun things to read about. But I forced myself to finish (once), because these are things we have to face.

Technically, the game is fine -- a custom browser-based engine that works on a principle similar to Undum -- and the author makes good use of single continuation options for pacing. It doesn't have any frills, and doesn't need them. Just give this short game a try; there's little else to be said.


Fallen London, by Failbetter Games
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Dragon Fate, by Kris Schnee

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
A blast from the past, April 11, 2016
by Felix Pleșoianu (Bucharest, Romania)

You know, people who grew up with gamebooks, like I did, often wax nostalgic about the medium. It's not as common to see someone try and bring those simple pleasures back to life, even for a glimpse. That's why I was excited to hear that Kris was working on Dragon Fate -- a good old-fashioned fantasy adventure where you, an adventurer, investigate claims of a dragon sighting off a small mountain village, hopefully getting rich in the process. But there's more up there than you bargained for...

Briefly put, Dragon Fate does everything right. The writing is to the point, but pleasant (Kris is a writer, and it shows). You can choose what kind of character you play. There's a diceless rule system that allows for freedom in how to tackle the various challenges, and you even get to decide the meaning of the mysteries you uncover, which will have an impact on certain endings. (The story features transformation themes.) The game is non-linear; you can explore in any order, and you'll want to visit everywhere multiple times to catch everything as you level up. The game also boasts no less than 14 endings (not counting death from injuries), but isn't judgemental about them -- you decide whether they're good or bad. All in all, a very replayable game.

All that makes the game more of an RPG than some titles actually claiming to belong in the genre. And to think it's made in plain old Twine! It's not exactly some deep meaningful story, either, but still entertaining, definitely head and shoulders over most of the classic gamebooks it reminds me of. Even the size is just right -- not so large as to require multiple play sessions, but neither so small as to leave the reader disappointed. There are places where there's nothing to suggest that coming back later might be fruitful, but that hardly impacts the enjoyment. So, enjoy!


Scarlet Sails, by Felicity Banks
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Untold Riches, by Jason Ermer

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Simple pleasures, November 17, 2015
by Felix Pleșoianu (Bucharest, Romania)
Related reviews: IF Comp 2015

A deceptively small and simple game, Untold Riches is an old-school puzzlefest with a backstory that seems to run on the Second-Hand Storytelling trope (appropriately given the set-up). The map is nice and tight, with mercifully simple puzzles -- though I did need the hints in a couple of places, simply for failing to realize there was hidden detail to examine. Also I found a couple of places where the text seems to assume I'll have encountered things in a particular order, but I'd have to replay to be sure. If I had to nitpick, the parrot could have been more entertaining, rather than a vending-machine NPC, but fluff by definition isn't essential.

All in all, a silly game with no depth that's nevertheless worth playing. I'd say it's nothing to write home about, but I just did, and that means more than the words themselves. Enjoy.


Beautiful Dreamer, by S. Woodson
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

A Summer's Rose, by Adri (as Jed Brockett)
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

The Tower of the Elephant, by Tor Andersson
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

The Hunt for the Gay Planet, by Anna Anthropy

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Rushed but not pointless, April 7, 2013
by Felix Pleșoianu (Bucharest, Romania)

Having read Lesbian Pirates From Outer Space, I expected this game to be the poor man's version thereof, judging solely by the title. And it is... kind of. The ending in particular, with all the revelations and the choices, reminded me of the webcomic. Too bad the first segment of the story feels tacked on. But even rushed as it is, it does help drive home the point. Because it has a point, for all the faults. So try it out if you have a few minutes.


Hauntings, by E. Joyce
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

And a Hippo New Year, by Adri ("Erin Gigglecreek")
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Fogged Up Mirror, by Cha Holland
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Ex Nihilo, by Juhana Leinonen
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

See the Constellation, by ed blair
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Six Stories, by Neil K. Guy
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

The Lost Spellmaker, by Neil James Brown
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Moonglow, by Dave Bernazzani
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Catseye, by Dave Bernazzani
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Dunnet, by Ron Schnell
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

New Cat, by Poster
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Andromeda Dreaming, by Joey Jones
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Escapade!, by Juhana Leinonen
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Identity, by Dave Bernazzani
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

A Martian Odyssey, by Horatiu Romosan

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
A game that's flawed in interesting ways, December 6, 2012
by Felix Pleșoianu (Bucharest, Romania)

I wanted to play A Martian Odyssey ever since I noticed it was apparently written by another Romanian author. Stupid reason, but there you have it.

Unfortunately, the game suffers from misplaced priorities. The 50-megabyte download is all due to a long ambient/electronica soundtrack, which is nice, but hardly essential. Worse, it can't be turned off in-game, and it gets loud at some point. No offense, but I don't want to turn off my speakers because of a single application. Give me a sound-less version and I'll be sure to play it further. A few more verbs wouldn't hurt either. Did no-one think to try "radio Harrison" in beta?

On to the good parts: retro sci-fi is sufficiently rare that it feels fresh here, and I'd like to see that angle developed. Terse writing doesn't bother me either, and there's a cast of characters who actually feel alive and interesting, at least initially. (I didn't get far at all.) And while it was jarring to find unimplemented nouns, that at least told me what wasn't important; in more polished games, it's all too easy to waste countless turns poking and prodding at irrelevant scenery. Though on second thought that's arguably a part of the fun.

No, I can't give the game as it stands more than two stars. But I think it does have some potential, if only the aforementioned annoyances were fixed.

P.S. I'd like to know more about the author. Is he also the composer? Did the soundtrack inspire the game? It does help create mood...


STARSHIT, by Porpentine
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Andromeda Apocalypse — Extended Edition, by Marco Innocenti
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Andromeda Awakening - The Final Cut, by Marco Innocenti
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Afternoon in the House of Secrets, by Anna Anthropy
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Max Blaster and Doris de Lightning Against the Parrot Creatures of Venus, by Dan Shiovitz and Emily Short
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

The Rocket Man From The Sea, by Janos Honkonen
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

The Weapon, by Sean Barrett
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

On the Farm, by Lenny Pitts
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Kurusu City, by Kevin Venzke
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Fingertips: I Found a New Friend, by Adri
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Fingertips: Please Pass the Milk Please, by Adri
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Inform School, by William J. Shlaer
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Sunset Over Savannah, by Ivan Cockrum
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

VirtuaTech, by David S. Glasser
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Lists and Lists, by Andrew Plotkin
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

La Cité des Eaux, by Adrien Saurat
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Winter Wonderland, by Laura Knauth
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Space Shooter, by Krister Fundin
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Marine Raider, by Allen Gies
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Ted Paladin And The Case Of The Abandoned House, by Anssi Räisänen
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Walker & Silhouette, by C.E.J. Pacian
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

The Act of Misdirection, by Callico Harrison
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Lost Pig, by Admiral Jota
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Hoist Sail for the Heliopause and Home, by Andrew Plotkin
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Scavenger, by Quintin Stone
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Roofed, by Jim Munroe
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Aisle, by Sam Barlow
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Dual Transform, by Andrew Plotkin
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Heroine's Mantle, by Andy Phillips
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Into That Good Night, by Iain Merrick
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

The Lion in Winter, by Iain Merrick
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Plan 6 from Inner Earth, by Adrien Saurat
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

A Fleeting Case of Self-Possession, or, Memento Moratori, by Lea Albaugh
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Cryptozookeeper, by Robb Sherwin
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Tourist Trap, by Iain Merrick
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Vespers, by Jason Devlin
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Suveh Nux, by David Fisher
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Starborn, by Juhana Leinonen
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Les lettres volées, by Eric Forgeot

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Lettres Volées as played during the French IFComp 2008, March 19, 2011
by Felix Pleșoianu (Bucharest, Romania)
Related reviews: French IFComp 2008

Lettres Volées ("Stolen Letters") is the kind of game you can't write much about without giving spoilers. Let's just say it's a game in which you're not moving in space but in time. That's very rare in IF, despite the fact that time tracking is well-supported by Inform, at the very least.

Essentially, we're talking about a one-room game where descriptions change constantly. As time passes, you remember more relevant information about the surrounding objects, and you're offered more things to do with them. As a nice touch, the location itself is only described indirectly, through said objects. Artistically speaking, this works very well. Lettres volées does a great job of setting a mood and making an indirectly-discovered world come to life.

On the minus side, what I'm supposed to do in the game is despicable. I had to turn to the solution to even realize what was expected of me, and I still don't understand why I should be interested in doing it. And what's with all the waiting? I know there's a reason for it, but the third or fourth time it's no longer funny. Either I'm not on the author's wavelength, or else Lettres... needs a lot more clues. And I mean in-game, not in the hint system!

I could not reach the end in time for the voting deadline, (or afterwards, for that matter) but I hope to return to it someday, if only to see what other surprises the game has in store.


Brume, by Rémi Verschelde (Akien)

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Brume as played in the French IFComp 2008, March 19, 2011
by Felix Pleșoianu (Bucharest, Romania)
Related reviews: French IFComp 2008

While the English interactive fiction community regards long, elaborate works as an ideal, French authors seem to prefer small but well-made games (Ekphrasis being the exception that strengthens the rule). Brume is an escape-the-locked-room puzzle, very simple, but almost flawless. Except for a couple of unimplemented objects and an overwrought blurb, I have no complaint.

The game is made to convey a particular mood, and it does so with a carefully designed environment and short, well-written descriptions. The timed mood messages and occasional sudden deaths (they're undoable...) help, too. The puzzles are very basic, which is just the way I like them, but since the game is so small, more red herrings would not have been out of place. The author has clearly mastered the basics of text adventure authoring. I recommend just a little more ambition next time.


The Edifice, by Lucian P. Smith
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Varicella, by Adam Cadre
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Yes, Another Game with a Dragon!, by John Kean
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Reality's End, by Harry Hol
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Pirate Adventure, by Scott Adams and Alexis Adams
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Ghost Town, by Scott Adams
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Adventure, by William Crowther and Donald Woods
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Adventureland, by Scott Adams
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

The Count, by Scott Adams
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Hunter, in Darkness, by Andrew Plotkin
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

The Space Under the Window, by Andrew Plotkin
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Bolivia By Night, by Aidan Doyle
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Worlds Apart, by Suzanne Britton
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Spider and Web, by Andrew Plotkin
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Metamorphoses, by Emily Short
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

The Hobbit, by Philip Mitchell and Veronika Megler
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Citronille, by Samuel Verschelde
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

The Erudition Chamber, by Daniel Freas
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

The Fire Tower, by Jacqueline A. Lott
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Slouching Towards Bedlam, by Star Foster and Daniel Ravipinto
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

The Moonlit Tower, by Yoon Ha Lee
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Nothing But Mazes, by Greg Boettcher
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

The Meteor, the Stone and a Long Glass of Sherbet, by Graham Nelson (as Angela M. Horns)
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Curses, by Graham Nelson
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Christminster, by Gareth Rees
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

The King of Shreds and Patches, by Jimmy Maher
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Earth and Sky 2: Another Earth, Another Sky, by Paul O'Brian
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Earth And Sky 3: Luminous Horizon, by Paul O'Brian
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Earth and Sky, by Paul O'Brian
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

All Roads, by Jon Ingold
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

LASH -- Local Asynchronous Satellite Hookup, by Paul O'Brian
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Whom The Telling Changed, by Aaron A. Reed
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Dutch Dapper IV: The Final Voyage, by Harry Hol
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Glowgrass, by Nate Cull
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Photopia, by Adam Cadre
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

De Baron, by Victor Gijsbers
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Ekphrasis, by FibreTigre
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

The Plant, by Michael J. Roberts
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Pytho's Mask, by Emily Short
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

The Dreamhold, by Andrew Plotkin
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

Anchorhead, by Michael Gentry
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

City of Secrets, by Emily Short
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:

The Elysium Enigma, by Eric Eve
Felix Pleșoianu's Rating:


Showing All | Show by Page