Queers in Love at the End of the World

by Anna Anthropy

2013

Web Site

Return to the game's main page

Reviews and Ratings

5 star:
(10)
4 star:
(7)
3 star:
(8)
2 star:
(4)
1 star:
(2)
Average Rating:
Number of Ratings: 30
Write a review


Showing All | Show by Page


- finchie, January 31, 2022

- OverThinking, June 26, 2021

- inte (USA), December 22, 2020

- ShaniT8 (UK), December 13, 2020

- Nomad, April 7, 2020

A 10 seconds game, April 7, 2020

This is typically the kind of game which have the faults that go with its qualities : as many Twine games, it manages to give you a feeling of flowing time (here, very fast, an emergency tempo), but the downside is that it moves too fast to appreciate the writing (it needs screenshots). So an emotion is conveyed, but it's a quick one (and it was certainly the purpose of the author).


- Victor Gijsbers (The Netherlands), December 27, 2019

- dtaggart919, October 3, 2019

- Whom (Wisconsin, United States), August 22, 2019

- Janos Biro (Goi‚nia, Brasil), February 14, 2019

- Dawn Sueoka, June 20, 2018

- dgtziea, May 9, 2018

- E.K., February 5, 2017

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Brave experimental piece, January 29, 2017
by streever (America)

This incredibly short (10 second!) piece experiments with time as a constraint, something rarely seen in Interactive Fiction.

A fast and constantly dwindling 10 second countdown speeds you along as you click through the options, expressing your love and living the last few seconds of a romance as the world ends. Wisely, the end of the world--the whys, the hows, etc--isn't examined. The time constraint means it can't be, letting the story of doomed love take center-stage.

I found the experiment at times frustrating, because I was racing through prose; but I think that's a form of success here, as it meant I re-played several times, trying the same and different paths.


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Short, interesting art game, January 29, 2017

This is definitely more art than game, but I find it a very interesting use of the Twine medium and the way the title, premise, and text you don't have time to read combine makes for an impactful and evocative feel. Plus, it's so short, might as well play it a few times. ^_^


- lskains, September 7, 2016

- Aselia, September 5, 2016

- Chucklemaster, July 19, 2016

- itsdnoftheworld, March 16, 2016

- Hannah Powell-Smith, February 4, 2016

- gaite, December 19, 2015

- Trobairitz (USA), October 28, 2015

- CMG (NYC), September 12, 2015

- wwenches (Florida), June 5, 2015

- Asherred, April 4, 2015

- Vendae, March 8, 2015

- Simon Deimel (Germany), February 9, 2015

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Alright, but too quick., January 9, 2015
by Chai Hai (Kansas City KS)

I understand the point of this is two people telling each other they love each other literally seconds before the world ends, but that's it.

This in turn becomes a click-fest, and no attention is paid to writing whatsoever as you literally have no time. You either read and die on the first 3 pages, or get far through the game having no idea what you just did.

It's meant to be sweet but ends up being annoying, as I am one who likes to read what's being said, and having that option taken away from me is irritating.

A better way to go about this would be to remove the time limit, and make it so you can only do 5 actions. That way you can read what you're doing, and you get the brevity you were going for.

Nice idea, poor implementation.


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Short and sweet, January 9, 2015
by BenCarey (Brisbane, Australia)
Related reviews: short, flash

I really enjoyed this. It is so short, but I really liked how simple it was and quite touching too. The time pressure definitely added an interesting element to it as well.


- odysseus (Ontario, Canada), November 25, 2014


Showing All | Show by Page | Return to game's main page