27th Annual Interactive Fiction Competition (2021)

News & updates (RSS)


Series: Annual Interactive Fiction Competition

Official Web site: https://ifcomp.org/comp/2021

Organizer(s): Jacqueline Ashwell profile

Award date: November 20, 2021

Qualification opening date: September 1, 2021

Qualification closing date: September 28, 2021

Games and Awards

1st place: And Then You Come to a House Not Unlike the Previous One, by B.J. Best
2nd place: Dr Horror's House of Terror, by Ade McT
3rd place: The Song of the Mockingbird, by Mike Carletta
4th place: What Heart Heard Of, Ghost Guessed, by Amanda Walker
5th place: The Libonotus Cup, by Nils Fagerburg
6th place: Off-Season at the Dream Factory, by B.J. Best (writing as “Carroll Lewis")
7th place: The Golden Heist, by George Lockett and Rob Thorman
8th place: 4x4 Archipelago, by Agnieszka Trzaska
9th place: You are SpamZapper 3.1, by Leon Arnott
10th place: A Paradox Between Worlds, by Autumn Chen
11th place: At King Arthur's Christmas Feast, by Travis Moy
12th place: The Best Man, by Stephen Bond
13th place: Sting, by Mike Russo
14th place: Funicular Simulator 2021, by Mary Goodden and Tom Leather
15th place: Fine Felines, by Felicity Banks
16th place: we, the remainder, by Charm Cochran
17th place: The House on Highfield Lane, by Andy Joel
18th place: Finding Light, by Abigail Jazwiec
19th place: Silicon and Cells, by Nic Barkdull and Matthew Borgard
20th place: The Last Night of Alexisgrad, by Milo van Mesdag
21st place: D'ARKUN, by Michael Baltes
22nd place: Goat Game, by Kathryn Li
23rd place - tie: Grandma Bethlinda's Remarkable Egg, by Arthur DiBianca
23rd place - tie: Universal Hologram, by Kit Riemer
25th place: Beneath Fenwick, by Pete Gardner
26th place: Mermaids of Ganymede, by Seth Paxton
27th place: Closure, by Sarah Willson
28th place - tie: Ghosts Within, by Kyriakos Athanasopoulos
28th place - tie: The Waiting Room, by Billy Krolick
30th place: A Papal Summons, or The Church Cat, by Bitter Karella
31st place: How the monsters appeared in the Wasteland, by V Dobranov
32nd place: AardVarK Versus the Hype, by Truthcraze
33rd place: Cyborg Arena, by John Ayliff
34th place: Second Wind, by Matthew Warner
35th place: After-Words, by fireisnormal
36th place: Hercules!, by Leo Weinreb
37th place: Cygnet Committee, by P.B. Parjeter
38th place: I Contain Multitudes, by Wonaglot
39th place: The Last Doctor, by Quirky Bones
40th place: The Corsham Witch Trial, by JC Blair
41st place: Codex Sadistica: A Heavy-Metal Minigame, by grave snail games
42nd place: Starbreakers, by E. Joyce and N. Cormier
43rd place: My Gender Is a Fish, by Carter Gwertzman
44th place: The Library, by Leonardo Boselli
45th place: Fourbyfourian Quarryin', by Andrew Schultz
46th place: Brave Bear, by John Evans
47th place - tie: The Dead Account, by Naomi Norbez
47th place - tie: Wabewalker, by Ben Sisk
49th place: Taste of Fingers, by V Dobranov
50th place: Walking Into It, by Andrew Schultz
51st place: How it was then and how it is now, by Pseudavid
52nd place: BLK MTN, by Laura Paul
53rd place: An Aside About Everything, by Sasha
54th place: Infinite Adventure, by B.J. Best (writing as “A. Scotts”)
55th place: Recon, by Carlos
56th place: The TURING Test, by Justin Fanzo
57th place: extraordinary_fandoms.exe, by Storysinger Presents
58th place: RetroCON 2021, by Sir Slice
59th place: The Miller's Garden, by Damon L. Wakes
60th place: The Spirit Within Us, by Alessandro Ielo
61st place: Unfortunate, by Anonymous
62nd place: What remains of me, by Jovial Ron
63rd place: Smart Theory, by AKheon
64th place: This Won't Make You Happy, by Mike Gillis
65th place: Enveloping Darkness, by John Muhlhauser, Helen Pluta, and Othniel Aryee
66th place: Weird Grief, by Naomi Norbez
67th place: Kidney Kwest, by Eric Zinda, and Luka Marceta
68th place: Plane Walker, by Jack Comfort
69th place: The Daughter, by GioBorrows
70th place: The Belinsky Conundrum, by Sam Ursu
71st place: The Vaults, by Daniel Duarte

Miss Congeniality

1st place: And Then You Come to a House Not Unlike the Previous One, by B.J. Best
2nd Place - tie: Off-Season at the Dream Factory, by B.J. Best (writing as “Carroll Lewis")
2nd Place - tie: The Song of the Mockingbird, by Mike Carletta

Rising Star Award

The highest-rated game by a first-time entrant. (New for 2021.)

Winner: What Heart Heard Of, Ghost Guessed, by Amanda Walker

This is version 3 of this page, edited by JTN on 6 July 2023 at 04:12 AM. - View Update History - Edit This Page - Add a News Item