Spring Thing 2020

Spring Thing, also known as the Fall Fooferall, focuses on bringing together new text games of all kinds: choice-based stories, gamebooks, hypertext fictions, visual novels, text adventures, narrative roguelikes, and wild new experiments.

Entries can be nominated for an overall Best In Show ribbon, or a custom Audience Award that can be anything the nominator likes: from “Best Story” to “Favorite Twine” to “Cutest Vampires.”

News & updates (RSS)


Series: Spring Thing

Official Web site: https://www.springthing.net/2020/index.html

Organizer(s): Aaron A. Reed profile

Award date: May 3, 2020

Games and Awards

Main Festival

Main Festival games can be nominated for "ribbons," state fair style.

Best in Show; Audience Choice: 4x4 Galaxy, by Agnieszka Trzaska
Best in Show; Audience Choice: Hawk the Hunter, by Jonathan B. Himes
Best in Show; Audience Choice: JELLY, by Tom Lento, Chandler Groover
Entrant: Another Love Story, by Hélène Sellier
Entrant: Assemblage of Angels, by Els White
Entrant: Braincase, by Dan Lance
Entrant: Catch That Kitty, by Rohan
Entrant: composites, by B Minus Seven
Entrant: The Golden, by Kerry Taylor
Entrant: GUNBABY, by Damon L. Wakes
Entrant: Khellsphree, by Ralfe Rich
Entrant: The Land of Breakfast and Lunch, by Daniel Talsky
Entrant: A Murder In Engrams, by Noah Lemelson
Entrant: Napier's Cache, by Vivienne Dunstan
Entrant: The Prongleman Job, by Arthur DiBianca
Entrant: Quest for the Homeland, by Nikita Veselov
Entrant: States of Awareness, by Kerry Taylor

Back Garden

Back Garden games don't participate in voting and prizes, but have looser restrictions on entry.

Entrant: 77 Verbs, by MathBrush (as Prismatik)
Entrant: silences, by beams
Entrant: So Are the Days, by Dawn Sueoka

Late Harvest

For this year's festival, authors who submitted an intent to enter but were unable to get their game completed by the deadline could instead submit to the Late Harvest, a special showcase of games outside the main festival. Other than the late deadline, Late Harvest games function exactly like Back Harvest games: authors do not take part in the prize pool and are not eligible for ribbon nominations.

Entrant: The Game That Never Ends, by Earth Traveler

This is version 6 of this page, edited by Denk on 23 July 2020 at 05:15 PM. - View Update History - Edit This Page - Add a News Item