Violet

by Jeremy Freese profile

Romance, Slice of life, Collegiate
2008

Return to the game's main page

Reviews and Ratings

5 star:
(185)
4 star:
(106)
3 star:
(33)
2 star:
(5)
1 star:
(1)
Average Rating:
Number of Ratings: 330
Write a review


Previous | << 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 >> | Next | Show All


- nf, April 21, 2013

- _eMMe_ (Milan, Italy), April 13, 2013

- Stier, March 27, 2013

- ptkw, March 4, 2013

- dk101 (London, UK), March 2, 2013

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Best one room IF, March 2, 2013
by Coldfinger (Germany)

This is a game that not only excells in one regard. The plot is quite unique and the implementation is great, the prose is fun to read and the puzzles are not too difficult to stop the flow of the story while being not too easy to make this an interactive story instead of a game. The number of funny remarks you get when doing something wrong or trying to do something that doesn't work make even failing worthwhile. Never was able to put it into an unwinable state and I don't think this is possible.

Humour always depends on taste a bit but I think here we have something entirely funny for everyone. Even for both genders, since both have someone to emphatise. This is the first game where I really tried to do all the amusing stuff that is listed at the end. Only thing I missed is a (Spoiler - click to show) Zombie Egg.


- Metz77 (Massachusetts, USA), February 21, 2013

- SaraG, February 2, 2013

- Paolo Jose Cruz (Manila, Philippines), January 31, 2013

- Beable, January 20, 2013

- Fantacide (California), January 17, 2013

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Strong characters but unenjoyable world, December 25, 2012
by Andromache (Hawaii)

This is not a true review. More like impressions after partial game completion.

The thing I liked most about the game was the unconventional narrative voice. I found violet laugh-out-loud amusing. I also really felt the affection and exasperated mockery she has for the player character and the ex-girlfriend. I felt genuine remorse and sorrow at the things the player character has to sacrifice to get the writing done.

However, and maybe I am just dense, but when I tried to solve puzzles in normal-seeming ways, I had trouble getting the game to understand what I wanted. And while the puzzles do make sense for the setting and story, I didn't find them very intuitive. I've had to constantly look up hints and that's just not what I play IF for. The player character isn't very likeable, either. Neither is Violet in some ways, since she seems to expect you to know something won't work when as a player, part of puzzle-solving is doing things to see what happens. She's the only narrator who ever made me feel bad about quitting the game, though.

Maybe I'm taking the game too seriously, but I couldn't handle the things I had to make the character do. I wouldn't want to do such things to myself and while initially, I was drawn into the game, with all the stops and starts because of the puzzles, the mood was broken and I began instead to focus on just how depressing and pathetic the character felt.

Ultimately, I won't finish this game. The writing was great, but there are other games to try that are probably less frustrating and more immersive.

Note: this rating is not included in the game's average.

- Edward Lacey (Oxford, England), December 14, 2012

- Andreas Dobersberger (Vienna, Austria), December 2, 2012

- Lingling (Perth, WA), November 23, 2012

- Sam Kabo Ashwell (Seattle), October 31, 2012

- Puddin Tame (Queens, NY), October 27, 2012

- heatherb (United States), October 24, 2012

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Very Fun, Very Cute, Very Funny, September 16, 2012

For those who haven't played, "Violet" is a game about your character, who has an upcoming deadline--but is too distract to get the writing done. Your job is to remove the distractions and get to writing.
This game was a lot of fun for me, someone relatively new to IF. The puzzles require that you think, but they aren't so difficult that getting to the end is impossible. Not to mention, Violet is an adorable voice to have in your head, and I highly recommend reading all of her asides. They don't really progress the story, but they are cute little stories that give you a better feel of your relationship with her. Anyway, I would definitely recommend this one.


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Light Hearted, User Friendly Delight, September 14, 2012

CAVEAT: IF gamer here who prefers narrative over puzzles.

As someone who writes for a living, I found myself throwing up my hands halfway through the game and saying, "I play these games for fun, not to remind myself about work!" I then succumbed to another giggle fit as the puzzles became sillier and sillier.

The puzzles are gentle. I know some have said they found the puzzles to get nonsensical towards the end, but there was actually only a couple in the middle that I found baffling. This is one of the few IF games I've played of late where I can pretend that I'm an adept puzzle solver, not a woman who howls in despair after eleven turns and runs through the fields of the internet to find a walkthrough after the hints were of no help.

I loved the feeling of pity you develop for your character as you make him/her go to excruciating, then humiliating lengths to get this blasted paper written. The author did a great job of making me care about the character and care about his/her relationship.

I found the system very user friendly, especially with its wonderfully large and diverse vocabulary. Surprising range of unique responses to silly actions, too.


- RaulFPL (Brazil), August 16, 2012

- ohno, August 4, 2012

- Catalina, August 2, 2012

- Inarcadia Jones (NYC), August 2, 2012

- madducks (Indianapolis, Indiana), July 19, 2012


Previous | << 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 >> | Next | Show All | Return to game's main page