Violet

by Jeremy Freese profile

Romance, Slice of life, Collegiate
2008

Return to the game's main page

Reviews and Ratings

5 star:
(185)
4 star:
(106)
3 star:
(33)
2 star:
(5)
1 star:
(1)
Average Rating:
Number of Ratings: 330
Write a review


Previous | << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> | Next | Show All


- TheAncientOne, January 28, 2017

- chargefire, January 25, 2017

- magicnumber, January 9, 2017

- Xavid, December 7, 2016

- piffling-paka (State College, Pennsylvania), December 6, 2016

- Azul, November 25, 2016

- Audiart (Davis, CA), November 5, 2016

- paranormal-potato, September 24, 2016

- Emdistal (Muncie, Indiana), September 17, 2016

- mstahl, August 18, 2016

- CMG (NYC), July 21, 2016

- NinaS, July 3, 2016

- Aselia, May 12, 2016

- sipral, May 11, 2016

- jrc (Stockholm, Sweden), April 30, 2016

- missjith, April 24, 2016

- kala (Finland), April 13, 2016

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
a great little game with a unique narrator, April 7, 2016

one of the most original "escape the room"-type games i've ever played - i can only assume the premise came to the author in a "stroke-of-genius" type situation. the puzzles are clever, and the game is charming, occasionally sad, and overall a pleasure.


- Matt Bates, March 30, 2016

- Lanternpaw, March 11, 2016

- primal, February 12, 2016

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Extremely well polished college game with a great innovation; didn't gel for me, February 3, 2016

In this game, you must write your dissertation while overcoming many distractions. You must use various items in the room to block out sound, sight, itchiness, etc.

The main innovation here is that the parser is actually your girlfriend Violet. All of the responses are hers and she comments on everything.

The implementation, writing, and puzzles are top notch. But the game didn't gel for me. One reason may be that I recently finished my PhD, and it hit too close to home. Another reason is that the parser is very, very pushy. It makes the exploration necessary for the game stressful. And the relationship with the narrator seems unhealthy, like many of the superficial romances that develop in college.

So if you want a game that very accurately depicts a college scenario, this is it. Most people won't have the same negative reactions I had, but will share all of my positive reactions.


- Guenni (At home), January 25, 2016

- Veraloo, January 20, 2016

- Aryore, December 13, 2015


Previous | << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> | Next | Show All | Return to game's main page