Violet

by Jeremy Freese profile

Romance, Slice of life, Collegiate
2008

Return to the game's main page

Reviews and Ratings

5 star:
(185)
4 star:
(106)
3 star:
(33)
2 star:
(5)
1 star:
(1)
Average Rating:
Number of Ratings: 330
Write a review


Previous | << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> | Next | Show All


- leanbh, November 30, 2015

- Nancy Boo, November 22, 2015

- Cat Manning, November 17, 2015

- bignose (Melbourne, Victoria, Australia), November 7, 2015

- CasualGamer33356, October 14, 2015

- KingofSushi, October 12, 2015

- felicitations, August 11, 2015

- Sophie Grimaud (France), August 2, 2015

- Julia Myer (USA), July 6, 2015

- ibelongia, June 5, 2015

- chux, May 20, 2015

- blue/green, March 19, 2015

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Highly Polished, Endlessly Inventive, Funny, Cruel, and Exquisitely Relatable, March 12, 2015
by Matt W (San Diego, CA)

I was looking for a quick game to test out an IF interpreter (Text Fiction) on my Kindle. I knew Violet was a one-room game, so thought it would be a good test. Little did I know I'd be playing what may be my favorite IF game so far.

Plenty of others have reviewed the game more than adequately. I'll just reiterate that Violet is highly polished, endlessly inventive, funny, whimsical, cruel, wistful and exquisitely relatable. This one is a must play.


- Thrax, March 11, 2015

- hoopla, February 14, 2015

- NikkiT, February 2, 2015

- morlock, January 14, 2015

- BlitzWithGuns, December 11, 2014

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Charming, Funny, Heartwarming Fun. A Must., December 10, 2014

Your girlfriend you dearly love has given you an ultimatum. Write 1,000 words for your dissertation, or she's leaving you forever to go back to her home country of Australia, 1,000s of miles away...

This may seem cold, but as your struggle continues and more distractions stop you from creating any progress. The inner voice of Violet, your girlfriend and narrator, pushes you on and the sheer heart of victory is the sweet end you thirst for. Memories and funny bits flood you as you recount the personal items in your office as you pace breaking distraction to concentrate on the final objective of the game: Write.

From the irrelevant things you find yourself doing to the strange events taking place just outside your window are both hilarious and touching.

But when you finally reach your goal... Oh boy... You'll have to see for yourself.

Even though this game, Violet, takes place nearly entirely in a single room; the puzzles are ingenious and even silly at times. But every aspect feels like a world of it's own.

By the end of the game, I found myself truly caring about Violet and her feelings and whether my character would succeed in finishing his goal in time.

The writing is spot on and the flow of Violet's voice and narration feels natural and never felt like it lagged. It was continuously entertaining.

Overall, this game is very well done and well deserving of it's award. It's a must play for any fan of Text Adventures or Interactive Fictions.


- VarunG (Mumbai, India), November 15, 2014

- siquis (Scotland), November 7, 2014

- EllaClass, November 5, 2014

- Sobol (Russia), September 12, 2014

- nosferatu, August 21, 2014

- PVince81 (Germany), July 12, 2014


Previous | << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> | Next | Show All | Return to game's main page