Violet

by Jeremy Freese profile

Romance, Slice of life, Collegiate
2008

Return to the game's main page

Reviews and Ratings

5 star:
(185)
4 star:
(106)
3 star:
(33)
2 star:
(5)
1 star:
(1)
Average Rating:
Number of Ratings: 330
Write a review


Previous | << 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 >> | Next | Show All


- S. Plumb, December 3, 2010

- salty-horse, November 20, 2010

- Wendymoon, November 18, 2010

- Venya (Olalla, WA, US), October 22, 2010

- Softbagel, October 22, 2010

- nsandver, October 1, 2010

- armandch, September 17, 2010

- Nusco (Bologna, Italy), September 6, 2010

- Karl Ove Hufthammer (Bergen, Norway), August 29, 2010

- Clemency Jones (England), August 26, 2010

- Celestianpower (Gloucestershire, UK), July 25, 2010

- Juleske, July 20, 2010

- Pergament, July 9, 2010

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
Romantic? Comedy?, July 6, 2010

This is a surreal, funny little one-room game. You are a doctoral student having trouble concentrating on your dissertation. Your girlfriend has threatened to break up with you and move back to Australia if you do not write 1000 words by the end of the day. She narrates the entire game -- for example, if you "get" something, she quips "Yours, plucky wombat!" or whatever nickname she picks that time. There are quite a lot of amusing easter eggs to discover.

Violet's sense of humor is...sardonic to say the least. I would not want her as my girlfriend, but as a character, she's hilarious and the relationship is very believable. The puzzles, with one exception that I found frustratingly non-intuitive, are fun and just challenging enough to be interesting. There's often this marvelous sense of "Oh, I can't possibly be supposed to do that, can I?" Yes, whatever action you were contemplating with looming dread is exactly what you are supposed to do. The plot skirts the line between tragic and comedic, but stays on the "comedic" side, at least for me. However, I wouldn't recommend playing this while getting over a bad breakup unless you have a rather dark sense of humor ;-)


- Sorrel, July 4, 2010

- lagran-G-an (Tel-Aviv, Israel), June 28, 2010

- Stickz (Atlanta, Georgia), June 23, 2010

- osofine, June 22, 2010

- Dan Efran, June 15, 2010

- strikemeyer (Atlanta, Georgia), June 12, 2010

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful:
Earns a spot on the 'all-time favorite' list, June 9, 2010
by Bernie (Fredericksburg, VA)

After reading a review on here, I popped open Violet to read a few quick sentences. Unfortunately, I had to surrender my computer to my husband for an appointment 10 minutes later. Violet was so well-written and interesting that I ended up co-opting my husband's computer and downloading an interpreter so I could keep playing. The game was just too much fun to put down.

The narration in the game is entirely from the point-of-view of a girlfriend, and it sparkles. Almost every command you type evokes a witty response. As I played, I found myself falling in love with the girlfriend behind the keyboard who makes clever artwork and calls me cute pet names.

The puzzle behind the game is deceptively straightforward: you need to write. There are many highly entertaining distractions and the puzzles center around masking them. The solutions to the puzzles are logical and a built-in hint system helps keep you from getting stuck.

Everything about the game shines, from the well-implemented commands and descriptions to the strong and well-developed characters that kept me glued to the game until the finish. The writing is so good that you will want to play it again, just to see more of the fun distractions and hear more cute pet names.


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful:
Gem of a game!, June 7, 2010
by Danielle (The Wild West)

If you came to VIOLET wanting a huge dungeon-crawler, you'll be disappointed. But if you're in the mood for something different, this game is a perfect little tidbit.

It's all about Violet. Come to think...yeah, it is all about her. A generic parser voice would turn this into another game about accomplishing a mundane in-office task. Instead, Violet editorializes upon your actions (whether good, bad, or stupid), and mentions memories that remind you that there's more at stake here than a thesis.

I also think if this game hadn't had such a good hint system, I would have had to've knocked down a star. Intially, it's a little tricky to catch on to the thread of logic, so when the hints ended up being more like the UHS system (in which a number of clues are given before the answer's handed out), AND in Violet's voice, I was very happy.

Violet is fun to listen to (my favorite pet name: "weet-bix"), and you feel a lot of genuine affection in the writing of this game. The spot-on implementation, charming voice, and perfect length make this equivalent to a short-story masterpiece.


- freeform (Taiwan), May 14, 2010

- Patrick M. McCormick (United States), May 4, 2010

- helga (Australia), May 2, 2010


Previous | << 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 >> | Next | Show All | Return to game's main page