Galatea

by Emily Short profile

Mythological
2000

Web Site

Return to the game's main page

Reviews and Ratings

5 star:
(101)
4 star:
(127)
3 star:
(54)
2 star:
(18)
1 star:
(9)
Average Rating:
Number of Ratings: 306
Write a review


Previous | << 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 >> | Next | Show All


- Nathanial, May 27, 2011

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Interesting as a concept for NPCs, May 25, 2011
by ZUrlocker (Traverse City, Michgian)

Galatea is interesting as it makes a point of emphasizing story telling through interaction with an NPC. While I think it's a great concept and will help illustrate the level of sophisticated interaction that can be done in a game, I think it's more of an interesting exercise for authors than necessarily a superb standalone work. I admit the Pygmalion reference was lost on me and I had trouble figuring out the right interactions with Galatea. Sadly the story ended just as I thought it was getting interesting. Still, a breakthrough in its time and Emily Short has done tremendous work to push the envelope in IF.


- MKrone (Harsleben), April 26, 2011

- Joshua Wilson, April 25, 2011

- JohnW (Brno, Czech Republic), March 16, 2011

- frocutio (Irvine, CA), February 22, 2011

- diddlescatter (US), February 2, 2011

- snickerdoddle, January 28, 2011

- Ben Cressey (Seattle, WA), January 26, 2011

- Ghalev (Colorado, United States), January 1, 2011

- Markoff23, December 6, 2010

- samuraipoet (Fayetteville Arkansas), October 27, 2010

- Chris Longhurst (Oxford, UK), September 30, 2010

- Brian Lavelle (Edinburgh, Scotland), September 12, 2010

- Aaron (Lille, France), August 29, 2010

- Alder (San Francisco), August 15, 2010

- Juleske, July 20, 2010

- Stickz (Atlanta, Georgia), June 23, 2010

- strikemeyer (Atlanta, Georgia), June 12, 2010

14 of 18 people found the following review helpful:
Interesting Experiment, June 9, 2010
by tggdan3 (Michigan)

There are two ways to take Galtea- like there are two ways to take most IF nowadays: as a game, and as an experiment.

As a game, this offers very little. You try to come up with things to ask Galatea, and she will respond, and you can ask her more, or tell her things.

As an experinment in NPCs, this goes very deeply, and offers a lot for a writer of IF to learn when programming his own NPCs.

There is very little to do except to speak to the statue, and the statue (as far as I've seen), doesn't speak to you on her own, except for before you speak to her, kind of as a hint that this is what you're supposed to do. The author provides a good RECAP command to help you learn what topic you've covered and if there is more to cover on the subject.

The NPC is tragic, and you can't help but feel for her- which is the point, I suppose. It gives a lot to live up to in form of an individual NPC, and it's something anyone thinking of writing IF should play, if only for inspiration, and anyone interested in IF as an art form should definately look at. People who prefer games over story might be disappointed.


- Patrick M. McCormick (United States), May 23, 2010

- G.D. Lascelle (UK), May 19, 2010

- Azazel, April 6, 2010

- pearceduncan (New Zealand), March 23, 2010

- Sam Kabo Ashwell (Seattle), February 15, 2010


Previous | << 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 >> | Next | Show All | Return to game's main page