Lost Pig

by Admiral Jota profile

Fantasy, Humor
2007

Web Site

Return to the game's main page

Reviews and Ratings

5 star:
(245)
4 star:
(158)
3 star:
(28)
2 star:
(0)
1 star:
(2)
Average Rating:
Number of Ratings: 433
Write a review


Previous | << 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 >> | Next | Show All


- Harry Coburn (Atlanta, GA), August 14, 2015

- arnoud999, August 11, 2015

- veronica, August 9, 2015

- leanbh, July 30, 2015

- Khalisar (Italy), July 29, 2015

- Julia Myer (USA), July 11, 2015

- Thrax, July 8, 2015

- Pegbiter (Malmö, Sweden), June 15, 2015

- Pope of Gainz, June 3, 2015

- chux, May 20, 2015

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Cute Game, April 17, 2015

A small map with deceptively simple puzzles! Just right on the difficulty scale.


- guinevak, April 13, 2015

- Doug Orleans (Somerville, MA, USA), March 19, 2015

- Keiya, March 15, 2015

- cabalia (Ohio), March 3, 2015

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Excellent tightly constructed IF, February 25, 2015
by Frank (Salford, England)
Related reviews: XYZZY Comp 2007. Humour. Adventure.

The writer makes excellent use of the game's relatively small world. Questioning the gnome is a joy, and the game accepts a wide variety of responses to encourage experimentation. The pig and Grunk are also well implemented. Furthermore, subtle narrative clues cleverly aid the player. Highly recommended.


- Matt W (San Diego, CA), February 23, 2015

- Katastrophy9 (The Intranets), February 16, 2015

- hoopla, February 12, 2015

- NikkiT, February 2, 2015

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Interesting characters, sensible puzzles, and just fun to play, January 29, 2015
by besmaller (Portland, OR)

I've played a lot of interactive fiction, and Lost Pig stands out, because it was really fun to play from start to finish. The interactions with the pig and other characters in the game are enjoyable. The descriptions, written from the perspective of your curious, observant, but not-so-literate character, are quite funny. I felt myself sink into the character I was playing very easily. The puzzles were interesting, and made sense. This is a really well designed game.

One puzzle near the end gave me a little trouble, and I was appreciative of a built-in hint system which, invisi-clues style, would only give you as much help as you needed.


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
An orc and a pig, January 19, 2015

This short game was deservedly lauded on its appearance. Lost Pig seems to start off as a concept piece: Grunk is an orc and communicates as such. But as it progresses, it becomes more than this. Grunk starts to function as a Candide-like observer of a small and seemingly static world: the distance induced by his vocabulary eventually vanishes and the player ends up identifying with Grunk. This is an impressive feat.

It can only work because the game as a whole has an internal structure that is unusually coherent and whose logic meshes with Grunk's ability. The NPC is a gem: quite different from Grunk, but complementary. By the end, the player is urging both NPC and Grunk on as they bring the game to a conclusion.

There have been discussions about the place of Lost Pig in the pantheon of contemporary IF. Without entering that debate, I would argue that Grunk is (written as) one of the most memorable IF characters, one who is transparent and who ends up being, in his own small way, a hero. The pig is a tremendous character, too.


- morlock, January 14, 2015

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Really fun! You get to burn pants.... :D..., December 30, 2014
by Chai Hai (Kansas City KS)

The people who came before me gave this game its praise, but I just HAD to comment on the burning pants. That really had me laughing. The imagery.... Thanks for giving me a laugh! ^_^


- Sean Callahan, December 30, 2014


Previous | << 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 >> | Next | Show All | Return to game's main page