Lost Pig

by Admiral Jota profile

Fantasy, Humor
2007

Web Site

Return to the game's main page

Reviews and Ratings

5 star:
(248)
4 star:
(161)
3 star:
(28)
2 star:
(0)
1 star:
(2)
Average Rating:
Number of Ratings: 435
Write a review


Previous | << 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 >> | Next | Show All


- NikkiT, February 2, 2015

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Interesting characters, sensible puzzles, and just fun to play, January 29, 2015
by besmaller (Portland, OR)

I've played a lot of interactive fiction, and Lost Pig stands out, because it was really fun to play from start to finish. The interactions with the pig and other characters in the game are enjoyable. The descriptions, written from the perspective of your curious, observant, but not-so-literate character, are quite funny. I felt myself sink into the character I was playing very easily. The puzzles were interesting, and made sense. This is a really well designed game.

One puzzle near the end gave me a little trouble, and I was appreciative of a built-in hint system which, invisi-clues style, would only give you as much help as you needed.


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
An orc and a pig, January 19, 2015

This short game was deservedly lauded on its appearance. Lost Pig seems to start off as a concept piece: Grunk is an orc and communicates as such. But as it progresses, it becomes more than this. Grunk starts to function as a Candide-like observer of a small and seemingly static world: the distance induced by his vocabulary eventually vanishes and the player ends up identifying with Grunk. This is an impressive feat.

It can only work because the game as a whole has an internal structure that is unusually coherent and whose logic meshes with Grunk's ability. The NPC is a gem: quite different from Grunk, but complementary. By the end, the player is urging both NPC and Grunk on as they bring the game to a conclusion.

There have been discussions about the place of Lost Pig in the pantheon of contemporary IF. Without entering that debate, I would argue that Grunk is (written as) one of the most memorable IF characters, one who is transparent and who ends up being, in his own small way, a hero. The pig is a tremendous character, too.


- morlock, January 14, 2015

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Really fun! You get to burn pants.... :D..., December 30, 2014
by Chai Hai (Kansas City KS)

The people who came before me gave this game its praise, but I just HAD to comment on the burning pants. That really had me laughing. The imagery.... Thanks for giving me a laugh! ^_^


- Sean Callahan, December 30, 2014

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Non-Stop Laughs!, December 28, 2014
by rfopsh
Related reviews: Pig, Find, Funny, Humor, Gronk, Gnome, Science, Alchemy, Farm, Orc,

I loved this game. It had me laughing all the way through and the puzzles were tricky but not impossible to solve. I enjoyed how much effort the maker put into the extra conversations and commands you can use that don't necessary further your progress but give the game color. The only thing I didn't like was how hard it was to get all the points, but maybe just because I'm too impatient to play a second time. Overall, amazing!


- BlitzWithGuns, December 4, 2014

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Me enjoy playing Lost Pig, November 5, 2014

As a new player of Interactive Fiction me like exploring the world of Lost Pig with Grunk and his pig. Me get confused a few times, and needed hint. Me finish game and smile. Me recommend Grunk to others.


- Catalina, October 30, 2014

- dustybits, October 28, 2014

- Witchy W, October 20, 2014

- Sobol (Russia), September 12, 2014

- nosferatu, August 27, 2014

- M. Tea, August 21, 2014

- Egas, August 16, 2014

- Pinkeye (The Czech Republic), July 21, 2014

- blue/green, July 16, 2014

- Simon Deimel (Germany), July 6, 2014

- Venya (Olalla, WA, US), May 18, 2014

- Lotus Watcher, May 14, 2014

- Miron (Berlin, Germany), April 18, 2014

- Taffer, April 8, 2014

- kris, April 4, 2014

- Jason McIntosh (Boston), March 11, 2014


Previous | << 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 >> | Next | Show All | Return to game's main page