Spider and Web

by Andrew Plotkin profile

Science Fiction/Espionage
1998

Web Site

Return to the game's main page

Reviews and Ratings

5 star:
(164)
4 star:
(66)
3 star:
(23)
2 star:
(12)
1 star:
(3)
Average Rating:
Number of Ratings: 266
Write a review


Previous | << 7 8 9 10 11 >> | Next | Show All


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful:
Best IF game I've ever played, November 22, 2007
by puzzler (Everett, Washington)

This is the best IF game I've ever played. The story, puzzles, all work together perfectly.


- Leland Paul (Swarthmore, PA), November 19, 2007

- ErWenn (Bloomington, IN), November 18, 2007

- Wesley (Iowa City, Iowa), November 11, 2007

- protobob, November 8, 2007

- Wendymoon, October 26, 2007

- Stephen Bond (Leuven, Belgium), October 26, 2007

- aparrish (NYC), October 24, 2007

- zer, October 22, 2007

- John Murphy (Lebanon, NH, USA), October 21, 2007

- Michael R. Bacon (New Mexico), October 21, 2007

- Tracy Poff (Hamlin, West Virginia, United States), October 19, 2007

- Emily Short, October 19, 2007

0 of 21 people found the following review helpful:
No clue., October 18, 2007
by isd (Tokyo)
Related reviews: dictatorial

Had no clue from the start, tried to read the beginning of the walkthrough 5 minutes later(the existence of the walkthrough itself shows a fatal weekness in the design)... didn't manage to find some interesting pattern to play with.
This could have been interesting, if it was playable, or at least not frustrating right from the start.
I think there is something to learn here.
I wouldn't like a book with "Let's have fun! Guess the number of the second page." as the first paragraph.


13 of 31 people found the following review helpful:
Frustrating and Dull, October 18, 2007
by AmberShards (The Gothic South)

Games like Spider and Web are why I've never understood the wide appeal that the author commands. At the beginning, the mechanism that drives the game lures you in. "This is different," you think. But then you realize that the entire game works that way, and the spartan storytelling style provides neither clues nor room for exploration. If you don't get every single detail right (and you have no way of determining the details ahead of time), you're sent back to start over. So you start over, and over, and over again.

I'd rather spend my free time any other way than being told, "You're wrong. Try again" repeatedly. That's just not my idea of fun.


Baf's Guide


A futuristic spy story with a highly unusual structure. The bulk of the game consists of flashbacks, as you try to recreate, to the satisfaction of the man interrogating you, the events leading up to your capture. The strangest thing about this is that the protagonist knows more about what's happened than the player does. Gameplay is quite linear, but somehow works anyway (in part because your captor gives you so much guidance). Starts off very forgiving, but ends with a frantic race against time. Nice gadgetry, unexpected twists, ties together in a very satisfying manner by the end. A real gem. I'm still discovering subtleties just by thinking about it afterwards.

-- Carl Muckenhoupt

You wrote this review - Revise it | Add a comment


Previous | << 7 8 9 10 11 >> | Next | Show All | Return to game's main page