Reviews by RadioactiveCrow

Less than 15 minutes

View this member's profile

Show ratings only | both reviews and ratings
View this member's reviews by tag: 1-2 hours 10+ hours 15-30 minutes 2-3 hours 2-4 hours 8-10 hours About 1 hour About 15 minutes About 30 minutes Less than 1 hour Less than 15 minutes Less than 30 minutes
...or see all reviews by this member
1-9 of 9


The Place, by Ima

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Not sure why the author choose IF as the form for this story, November 20, 2020
by RadioactiveCrow (Irving, TX)
Related reviews: Less than 15 minutes

I mean, I guess I kind of understand why. They wanted to make a point about not having any real agency in life by writing a piece of IF where the choices don't matter. However, in this piece of IF, there are hardly any choices to make any way so I'm not sure what the point was. Instead of having any branching choices (even fake ones) the only really choices in the game were fill-in-the-blank interruptions with questions like "What is your favorite color?" But even those answers were just used to fill in text on future sentences, not in any way to try to show you how your choices were subverted or impotent. Top it all off with many spelling and grammatical errors, and a story that goes nowhere, and this one just is not worth your time.


Amazing Quest, by Nick Montfort

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Story, game, interactive or fiction? None of the above., October 29, 2020
by RadioactiveCrow (Irving, TX)
Related reviews: Less than 15 minutes

I'm giving this game one-star even though it appears to be working as intended (usually I reserve one-star ratings for games with serious bugs). This "game" isn't a game, there isn't any story and it has only the veneer of interactivity. Literally none of the choices you make have any impact on the output. The outputs don't provide any sort of narrative. Best case this game might be considered some sort of critique of the interactive fiction, but I don't understand it (perhaps the author will enlighten us one day). Worst case it is just trolling. Not even worth the 10 minutes it takes to play.


Move On, by Serhii Mozhaiskyi

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
A unique, but ultimately frustrating, mechanic in a boiler plate chase scene, October 6, 2020
by RadioactiveCrow (Irving, TX)
Related reviews: Less than 15 minutes

As deathbytroggles stated, to really give any details on how this game works would spoil it, so look below for spoilers. My advice: play it through the first time until you die, then play it again as many times as possible for 5-10 minutes (or until you achieve victory). Personally, I found it frustrating and gave up before reaching the end. While the mechanic is very unique, I just don't see any way this could get worked into a longer, more traditional piece of IF without driving everyone crazy.

(Spoiler - click to show)I believe this IF game is only about timing. There are no choices to make other than when you hit the next button. While I got enough different outcomes to confirm that hitting the button too fast or too slow changes the story (usually by killing you), the story wasn't sufficiently interesting for me to fine tune it enough to reach the end. Your mileage may vary.


The Surprise, by Candy Meldromon

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
An order-of-operations game about a critical moment in life, October 1, 2020
by RadioactiveCrow (Irving, TX)
Related reviews: Less than 15 minutes

This game took me by surprise in that it is a hypertext choice-based game that is basically one big puzzle that involves clicking the choices in the right order. It takes place during a critical moment in a woman's life that is pretty much spoiled from the beginning ((Spoiler - click to show)she finds out she's pregnant, presumably for the first time). There isn't a lot of dwelling on the emotions or impact of the moment, each screen is only 2-3 sentences long until you get to the end. It is mostly the mechanics of moving around performing the actions in the right order and in the right place to get to the ending. It just struck me as weird.

It also involves the dreaded timed-text several times.


Eye Contact, by Thomas McMullan

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
More of an experiment than a game, October 1, 2020
by RadioactiveCrow (Irving, TX)
Related reviews: Less than 15 minutes

This is really just a short limited choice conversation, with a picture of very expressive eyes that change based on where the conversation goes. Very small, but I like the idea. If having responsive eyes or a face popped up in longer game as part of the conversation mechanic, I think that would add a lot to it.

So great experiment and I want to see more, but not really a game in and of itself.


Out, by Viktor Sobol

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
I wanted to like this game, October 1, 2020
by RadioactiveCrow (Irving, TX)
Related reviews: Less than 15 minutes

I really wanted to like this game. The other reviews were so glowing that I thought I'd just missed something, but after a couple playthroughs I just think it doesn't click with me.

My problems with are that it really isn't a game, or a story, or interactive. It can be "solved" by (Spoiler - click to show) typing the key verb once and then typing "g" over and over again . There really isn't a story per se either. And while you can do a few things other than following the main path, you can't do much and it generally isn't rewarding. It is almost more a mediation on an idea that IF.

I did, however, very much appreciate the author's dedication to getting the names of the last several "rooms" right and in the correct sequence rather than calling them something more generic.


Haywire, by Peregrine Wade

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Well written, fun story that isn't too deep, November 3, 2018
by RadioactiveCrow (Irving, TX)
Related reviews: Less than 15 minutes

Good writing and several different branches that make it worth playing through at least three times. However, you are just thrown into the story without much context and the characters aren't very deep. I think the author wanted to have a lot of different branches, but in this case it means that they were all fairly shallow.


Dreamland, by Tatiana Statsenko (as eejitlikeme)

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Short, weird, not that entertaining, October 19, 2018
by RadioactiveCrow (Irving, TX)
Related reviews: Less than 15 minutes

Feels like someone programmed a weird dream they once had into a short game. It was just odd and I didn't find any meaning in it. I think there was a glitch in it if you don't go in a certain order, or maybe it was caused by playing through a second time without restarting the game, but it felt like the game assumed you would go through it from A to B and only explained the first part of B in part A, so starting with B as you are allowed to do is confusing.


+ = x, by Chandler Groover

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Short and weird, October 19, 2018
by RadioactiveCrow (Irving, TX)
Related reviews: Less than 15 minutes

Kind of an interesting premise, but in the end it is just a quick 15 minute game where nothing really happens. Your choices don't feel like they make any difference. Certainly not as good as "Eat Me".



1-9 of 9