Lost Pig

by Admiral Jota profile

Fantasy, Humor
2007

Web Site

Return to the game's main page

Member Reviews

5 star:
(248)
4 star:
(161)
3 star:
(28)
2 star:
(0)
1 star:
(2)
Average Rating:
Number of Reviews: 50
Write a review


Previous | << 1 2 3 4 5 >> | Next | Show All


Pleasant surprise when gnome examines you!, April 19, 2022
by SkyDave1 (Sacramento )

Yeah this was fun, I was a little rusty, and got stuck, eventually needing a peek at the walkthrough, but just a peek.


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Great beginners introduction to text adventures, March 13, 2022

I enjoyed this game, got loads of humour and I liked being an Orc for a few hours. The clues and puzzles are solid and pretty easy, and conversations with the Gnome were hilarious.

Great place to kick off you career in IF!


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
A must-play text adventure. Great for beginners., January 28, 2022
by Cody Gaisser (Florence, Alabama, United States of America, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way, Known Universe, ???)

Lost Pig is possibly the most beloved text adventure around. Grunk is possibly the most endearing protagonist in interactive fiction. The game is perfect for beginners, but still enjoyable to experienced players. Lost Pig is short, fun, humorous, unpretentious, and relatively easy to solve without being too obvious. What are you waiting for? Play it!


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
A must play for every adventurer., January 9, 2022

I am playing the top rated adventures.
When I started to play this game I thought this was a poor one, but afterwards I enjoyed it a lot.

This game is full of details so it is a simulacionist one. You can try any action you think about.
The map is a cave that you can explore it by yourself. You should EXAMINE exhaustively all names in description so there are objets hidden, more or less.

The puzzles are nicely, coloured and logical. There are several ways to reach some actions.

In the heart of the game there are two NPCs, a pig and a gnome:

Taking the pig is the first task but also is untakeable as a fish. You find the pig rather soon, but you aren't able to catch up it untill later. The pig has its own life and seems that it want to do things in its own exploring all things while standing around you. Also the pig has responses to your actions.

The gnome has a personality, patience, acid humor, resignation, that fits perfectly with Grunk's simpler point of view about life. There are many, many things you can ask the gnome, most of which enrich and has no effect on the game, but several ones are major clues. You have to read carefully. There is fun talking about these lot of topics and you can spend currently a lot of time trying to exhaust the topics.

This is a re-playable game because you earn more point as you do the things in a better way. The game is middle-low difficult and some hours of gameplay.

- Jade


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Grunk like, November 29, 2021

Grunk like, lots of fun, really liked the e character interaction and it was nice to have something on the lighter side!


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
One of the most intuitive games I've ever played, March 26, 2021
by Lazygamedesigner82 (Canada)

Lost Pig was my first exposure to interactive fiction in many years, and I continue to be stunned at how immersive, expansive, and unexpected a world the author was able to create with a relatively small map.

I heard it once said that great game design makes you feel like you can do nothing wrong, and Lost Pig is a perfect example of this. The parser was incredibly intuitive, and even though I might not have grasped the solution to a particular puzzle right away, the good-natured humour meant that I was never - not once - frustrated with my lack of progress. There was always something new to examine, and the joy was in searching every room, every object until a hint was revealed. Meanwhile the living, breathing characters seemed to mill about at their own pace, willing to interact but not simply for your entertainment. I wouldn't have been shocked to discover that they had private conversations about me when I wasn't in the room.

There's nothing I don't love about this game!


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Hard but fun puzzles, thin story, October 23, 2020

My partner and I had a mostly fun time playing this game. The characters are cute in concept, but the general story is underdeveloped (though the 'moral' is pleasing).

The puzzles were definitely clever and challenging. It took us---relative novices---about two hours to play the whole thing, getting just two or three hints. (The hint menu offers tiered hints---we went only two or three in on a single topic.)

Other reviewers seemed to get a kick out of chatting with the gnome, but we weren't so engaged.

We quite liked the "point counter" approach---getting a point was a lovely reward for our struggles! Guessing the first move ((Spoiler - click to show)you could say we followed our nose) set us up with some unrealistic expectations about what else we'd learn. We were disappointed to finish with only 6/7 possible points, though. When we read the corresponding hint, well... maybe we would have gotten that point if we had been more immersed? Or maybe not.


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Lost Pig: an unWinnable State review, May 9, 2020
by unWinnable State (unWinnableState.com)
Related reviews: unWinnable State, Parser, The List!

Grunk must retrieve a lost pig for his employer, and in doing so helps a gnome deal with his past and his place in the world today.

Grunk is one of the most charming PCs you are likely to come across, and the little gnome man, a fun NPC with a delightful story of his own. The writing is sharp and funny, in both its general descriptions and its handling of commands from the player.

Grunk is the reason to play Admiral Jota’s Lost Pig. Look, the first three paragraphs of this review begin with his name, that’s just how great Grunk is. I would say don’t let him hear it or it might go to his head, but the truth is not much actually goes to Grunk’s head. And here’s the thing: You don’t actually play as Grunk. Lost Pig is not written in the second person. Grunk is telling the story. Everything from Grunk point of view… Excuse me, everything is from Grunk’s point of view. The commands you the player type in are more like suggestions for Grunk, which he usually follows.

The puzzles in Lost Pig are quit good, and the difficulty ramp up is smooth, with nothing diabolical A pause and a think will get you through most. There is one puzzle I found frustrating, its solution not entirely fair, but we’ll get to that in the spoiler-y section.

There is an extensive, topic driven, conversation system implemented for the one character Grunk runs into during the game. Through this conversation system you can find bits of guidance on how to complete the tasks laid before Grunk, but more importantly these conversations are what give you the lore of the game. (Lore is definitely overselling it, but hey, I like the word.) What you learn about the world and the character fill out a game that would be little more than a series of tasks otherwise.

While I doubt Lost Pig is going to make my Top 10 list, it is a definite must play. The game is especially great for newer players of parser based IF.

You can find the SPOILER-Y portion of unWinnable States review of Lost Pig here.


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Favorite, November 20, 2018
by Indigo (Maine)

Really spoils you with the amount of things you can do. I loved the EXPANSIVE dialogue options you can have. Enjoyed a few sentimental moments too.


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Fun game!, April 28, 2017

short and moderately difficult. Funny



Previous | << 1 2 3 4 5 >> | Next | Show All | Return to game's main page