Conan Kill Everything

by Ian Haberkorn

Fantasy/Humor
2005

Return to the game's main page

Member Reviews

5 star:
(4)
4 star:
(13)
3 star:
(33)
2 star:
(16)
1 star:
(1)
Average Rating:
Number of Reviews: 11
Write a review


1-9 of 9


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
A funny one-room game. Under-implemented, but great for a firsttime author, February 3, 2016

Conan Kill Everything was intended to be dumb humor. The author chose the name from a competition for dumbest IF games. In this game, you must kill everything. When you do, you win.

The puzzles are actually pretty fun, but the game feels a bit underimplemented at times. Descriptions of objects and characters are sparse. It fits in with the game's setting, though.

Honestly, the game plays like a combination of Pick Up the Phonebooth and Die with Suveh Nux. If you liked those two games, you'll like this. If you liked just one, you might or might not like this.


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Knowing what to do, February 19, 2014
by Simon Deimel (Germany)

There is not much time spent on finding out what to do in this game: the player simply has to behave like a tough barbarian, destroying everything which can possibly destroyed.

The game offers some little puzzles, but they can be solved quite easily. There is hardly anything like a plot -- so the story is about doing what the title of the game is, and there is not much more to be done. Just kill everything. And if there is not any such a thing, try to find it. And then kill it.

It sounds dumb and it probably is, but in a funny way. The ending highlights the joke behind it all. As the puzzles are quite easy, this game is recommendable for beginners of the genre. It is short, straight to the point and positively worth a try.


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Some missed opportunities, June 28, 2013
by Guillaume Voisine (Montréal)

I liked this game. Short and simple.

But I feel that there are some missed opportunities. For example :

(Spoiler - click to show)> wait
Time passes.

> kill time
Conan cannot see that.

> kill
What do you want to kill?

> everything
You can’t use multiple objects with that verb.


Still, it's amusing.


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Funny Enough, March 27, 2012
by Jim Kaplan (Jim Kaplan has a room called the location. The location of Jim Kaplan is variable.)
Related reviews: ian haberkorn, one-room, short

Play it if: you've got a few minutes to kill and a few brain cells to waste.

Don't play it if: you want a bit more ambition in your IF than - well, almost nothing - and if you are easily enraged by the dumbing-down of the character of Conan as portrayed in external works.

A seemingly one-note joke of a game that actually does have a few puzzles, I'm not sure whether to praise Conan Kill Everything for keeping its admittedly simple premise brief, or wonder if a longer pastiche of the (now ubiquitous) dim-witted caricature of the character is in order.

But I won't be too picky. This is a fairly funny game, and the point of the joke is made. There are even some minor puzzles and a number of nice touches like Conan's reactions to kissing or cutting things. In sum, it's an OK time-waster.


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
One Room, One Puzzle, October 29, 2010
by Sylvia Storm
Related reviews: parody, fantasy, single room

A mildly entertaining 15-minute play with a single-premise joke - kill everything. It wasn't laugh-out-loud funny, but I enjoyed it enough for it to be memorable.

A game best described as one of those roadside games where you have to jump wooden pegs until you have one left. While it's possible to die early, it is also possible to get stuck in the middle. The game prevents you from making kills that may prevent later kills, which means you really can't get dead-ended. It also means you may be stalled without a clue on how to proceed.

Some of the puzzles infer a solution I couldn't apply, (Spoiler - click to show)as I kept trying to reach the torch to burn the wood golem; and others it seems where not enough clues are given in the descriptions to suggest an action, (Spoiler - click to show)like the table is killed not as you would think. Most of the solutions were obvious, but those last few unfortunately required a walkthrough. I would have liked a hint system.

Worth a short puzzle-solving playthrough.


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
A short joke, December 26, 2009
by Grey (Italy)

It's a pretty simple game to review, since it's just a joke game, the idea is somewhat funny, the game is very short (5-10 minutes), with only a couple "puzzles".

Still, the idea isn't bad, if you have some minutes to spare.


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful:
Lightweight, May 26, 2008

This is one of those games, like YOU HAVE TO BURN THE ROPE or Pick up the Phone Booth and Die, where the title could double as the walkthrough. Killing everything does entail a few very minor puzzles, but essentially you just do what it says on the box. Thoroughness is rewarded.

So it's not very ambitious. Is it fun? Yeah, more or less, but I found that the implementation wasn't quite smooth enough and I actually got hung up on stupid things midway through the game. You have to kill things in a specific order, and if you try to deviate from this order, the game won't let you go forward; since I had completely the wrong idea about how to solve one of the puzzles, this left me stuck for longer than the game really deserved.

Then, too, the humor wasn't quite to my taste. It's supposed to be broad, I realize, but the one-note joke had worn out well before the game ended.


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
Paradoxically enjoyable..., February 27, 2008

As seen in Baf's guide, "Stupid, but in a good way." is probably the best way to describe this unexpectedly fun mini-game. What should be a 1-star bad joke in IF form turns into a 3-star good joke in IF form as you find yourself actually putting some effort into figuring out how to get Conan to kill everything.

At least one line involving the spider made me laugh out loud. I look forward to trying more serious efforts from this author.


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful:
Everything? Yes, everything!, January 3, 2008
by Victor Gijsbers (The Netherlands)
Related reviews: short, joke, parody

It is a good thing that Robert E. Howard is not around to see what happened to his barbarian, Conan. Though his original stories are by no means great literature, neither are they the violent, mindless trash that later generations have associated with Conan the Barbarian.

Conan Kill Everything takes that later tradition to its logical extreme. Conan has found the evil wizard, and in order to exact his revenge, he kills everything. Absolutely everything.

In order to kill everything, Conan must solve a couple of very standard puzzles. There are some humorous elements, including the speeches of the wizard and the final move which you need to make to win the game; but in the end, the game is totally forgettable. The jokes are not brilliant; the puzzles are not themselves interesting; and it parodies something that is already so far beyond the limits of good taste and serious intention that it does not allow for parody.

Since you can play the entire game in 15 minutes, you still might want to give it a try.



1-9 of 9 | Return to game's main page