Counterfeit Monkey

by Emily Short profile

Espionage
2012

Return to the game's main page

Reviews and Ratings

5 star:
(196)
4 star:
(33)
3 star:
(6)
2 star:
(0)
1 star:
(0)
Average Rating:
Number of Ratings: 235
Write a review


Previous | << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> | Next | Show All


- goffstown, April 20, 2023

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Brilliant!, April 17, 2023

Astonishingly clever and laugh-out-loud funny, with vivid world building and a central mechanic that makes perfect use of the medium. I loved every second of this game.

Was this review helpful to you?   Yes   No   Remove vote  
More Options

 | Add a comment 

- Kastel, April 4, 2023

- Phil Riley, March 24, 2023

- EJ, January 4, 2023

- SirIgnotus (Somewhere, probably.), January 4, 2023

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Peak Fiction, December 30, 2022
by Lance Cirone (Backwater, Vermont)

If you have any doubt, stop reading these reviews and play the game.

There is so much to do in Counterfeit Monkey. I've played it three times and I'm still finding new stuff. Everything you do is rewarding and fun. The writing is consistent and the style is really original. The letter-remover is one of the most creative and well-implemented concepts I've ever gotten to use in a game, and the new tools that open up as you play just kept amazing me.

Was this review helpful to you?   Yes   No   Remove vote  
More Options

 | Add a comment 

- jrc (Stockholm, Sweden), December 30, 2022

got me hooked on IFs, December 29, 2022

by viv

this was my first ever IF, and tbh nothing has matched it since. Incredibly creative, amazing gameplay, I don't know if I would've continued playing IF if this one wasn't so dang amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?   Yes   No   Remove vote  
More Options

 | Add a comment 

- arslonga, December 13, 2022

- Rovarsson (Belgium), December 12, 2022

- Shepard Niles, November 25, 2022

- Bloxwess (Bellaire, Texas), November 18, 2022

- aaachenb, November 6, 2022

- Sipder, October 28, 2022

- Cerfeuil (*Teleports Behind You* Nothing Personnel, Kid), October 11, 2022

- chopin, October 2, 2022

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
I LOVED it until it got into an unwinnable state, September 27, 2022

According to the version notes, this quirk was fixed in version 10, but I played online and discovered that it was very much not fixed. I failed to solve a puzzle at the final boss and the game allowed me to undo only one turn, which wasn't enough turns to win. I finally gave up and watched an ending on YouTube. Be sure you SAVE right when you solve the portcullis puzzle!!!!! I think the correct command to restore your saved version is "restore".

That said, I loved practically everything else about this game, so I'm giving it five stars anyway. The worldbuilding and puzzles and social commentary are fascinating. I could not stop playing.

Was this review helpful to you?   Yes   No   Remove vote  
More Options

 | View comments (1) - Add comment 

- SharpNaif, September 24, 2022

- oscar-78, September 20, 2022

- knockupwood, August 21, 2022

- purplepoet01, August 18, 2022

- [ Delete this account ], August 13, 2022

- cat, August 1, 2022

- Kinetic Mouse Car, July 31, 2022


Previous | << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> | Next | Show All | Return to game's main page