14th Annual Interactive Fiction Competition (2008)

The annual competition for original IF, judged by the readership of rec.arts.int-fiction.

News & updates (RSS)


Series: Annual Interactive Fiction Competition

Official Web site: http://www.ifcomp.org

Organizer(s): Stephen Granade profile

Award date: November 15, 2008

Submission deadline: September 29, 2008

Games and Awards

1st Place: Violet, by Jeremy Freese
2nd Place: Nightfall, by Eric Eve
3rd Place: Everybody Dies, by Jim Munroe
4th Place: Afflicted, by Doug Egan
5th Place: Piracy 2.0, by Sean Huxter
6th Place: Snack Time!, by Hardy the Bulldog and Renee Choba
7th Place: Opening Night, by David Batterham
8th Place: April in Paris, by Jim Aikin
9th Place: A Date With Death, by David Whyld
10th Place: Berrost's Challenge, by Mark Hatfield
11th Place: Cry Wolf, by Clare Parker
12th Place: Escape from the Underworld, by Karl Beecher
13th Place: Buried In Shoes, by Kazuki Mishima
14th Place: Magic, by Geoff Fortytwo
15th Place: Recess At Last, by Gerald Aungst
16th Place: Grief, by Simon Christiansen
17th Place: Trein, by Leena Ganguli
18th Place: The Ngah Angah School of Forbidden Wisdom, by Anssi Räisänen
19th Place: Red Moon, by Jonathan Hay
20th Place: Dracula's Underground Crypt, by Alex Whitington
21st Place: Channel Surfing, by Mike Vollmer
22nd Place: Ananachronist, by Joseph Strom
23rd Place: wHen mAchines aTtack, by Mark Jones
23rd Place: The Lucubrator, by Ricardo Dague
25th Place: A Martian Odyssey, by Horatiu Romosan
26th Place: The Hall of the Fount of Artois, by Simon Ellis
27th Place: LAIR of the CyberCow, by Conrad Cook (as Harry Wilson)
28th Place: Search for the Ultimate Weapon, by Sharon Lynn Chu Yew Yee
29th Place: The Missing Piece, by C. Yong
30th Place: Freedom, by Anonymous
31st Place: Riverside, by Jeremy Crockett and Victor Janmey
32nd Place: Project Delta, by Emilian Kowalewski
33rd Place: Nerd Quest, by Gabor de Mooij
34th Place: The Lighthouse, by Eric Hickman and Nathan Chung
35th Place: The Absolute Worst IF Game in History, by Dean Menezes

Miss Congeniality Awards

The top games as voted by the authors of the entries.

1st Place: Violet, by Jeremy Freese
2nd Place: Everybody Dies, by Jim Munroe
3rd Place: Nightfall, by Eric Eve

This is version 1 of this page, edited by Michael Roberts on 22 September 2009 at 07:18 PM. - View Update History - Edit This Page - Add a News Item