Home | Profile - Edit | Your Page | Your Inbox Browse | Search Games   |   Log In

Reviews by Nomad

View this member's profile

Show ratings only | both reviews and ratings
1-10 of 27 | Next | Show All


THE CONFERENCE, by Carl Burton

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Meh., February 25, 2021
A short, surreal scene about a nightly "conference" (rather a performance) in a hotel, interrupted by short, surreal dreams. It has vibes, and it's not annoying. If you're looking for a game though, look elsewhere.

ZedFunge, by Martin Bays and Francis Irving

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Not a game, February 12, 2021
Just in case you stumble across this database entry and wonder what kind of game it is: It's an interpreter for the Funge-98 programming language. An interesting abuse of the Z-machine, but nothing for a romantic evening at the fireplace with just you and your laptop. Three stars because everything else would be unfair.

Sea of Zirun, by David Walls

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Meh, February 3, 2021
You're swimming in the Atlantic Ocean and are suddenly sucked underwater by a "whirlpool". Down there you can swim around without worrying about a lack of oxygen, and get killed without warning when you enter certain rooms, or enter other rooms with certain items in inventory.

Quill games, or memory-restricted games with a two-word parser in general, can have a certain charme. "Sea of Zirun" doesn't. It doesn't even have an "examine" command. The underwater setting with clams and seaweed and turtles and all is nice, but everything else is plain annoying.

Eravola, by Bjarke A. Larsen (Chronologist)

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Wow., February 3, 2021
This game would probably have much more reviews if it was playable in a browser. Anyway, it starts out as a simple fantasy gamebook with a linear flow. Writing is actually good - the game world is presented from the perspective of the protagonist, meaning there's no lengthy explanations of everything, because the protagonist *knows* what kind of social system etc. he's living in. I like that. Next up, a horror element creeps in, almost lovecraftian. Then, a sudden change of perspective which I'm not going to spoil. After that, the game was over relatively quickly.

I played it through once only - so far. I'm pretty sure the game is not as linear as it seemed to me. There's a score at the end indicating I could have performed far better - means I maybe only scratched the surface. Three stars so far, for the interesting setting and plot. Probably a fourth star the next time I play it. If you like gamebooks you should definitively try it.

The Cradle of Eve, by Kitty Horrorshow

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Nice, short, linear, some flaws., February 2, 2021
A short story, not exactly interactive. A spaceship crew discovers a lost spaceship and boards it. Nice setting. Good pacing at the beginning, maybe a bit too fast once on board the lost ship. More trouble begins there: Logic dissolves. Crew hierarchies don't matter as everybody just does as he pleases, everybody intuitively knows the layout of the strange ship, a former crew member had the means to paint paintings with acrylic. The "game" end happens soon after. I counted two situations where I could make a choice. A nice quick read (with a few flaws), but not a game.

The Enchanted Castle, by Gregg Roberts

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Try & Error Like It's 1980, October 11, 2020
No explanation what your goal is. Sparse room descriptions. Things are lying around unmotivatedly. NPCs are not communicative. Two word commands are all you need. It's like the past 40 years didn't happen, and Scott Adams still squeezes obscure puzzles into 16 KB of RAM. I appreciate the effort, but I do not long for a sequel. Not recommended.

Limerick Quest, by Pace Smith

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Awesome, October 4, 2020
Wow.

First glance: Artsy experiment
But then does the fun increment
It's a game of adventurous exploring
Scattered puzzles make sure it's not boring
For a Twine game it's really excellent

Electric word, "life", by Lance Nathan

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Nice, October 4, 2020
It's not a game, just a story you click through. But the story is nice. Well, it's pretty trivial until the one interesting twist, but that'll grab you, promise. Makes me a bit sad it's not a game.

Pirates and Ninjas and Aliens, Oh My!, by John Cater

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Bad, October 3, 2020
Shambolic, horribly implemented. If the storyline wasn't on rails you'd never get beyond the first room. Plus, the story didn't grab me.

Draculaland, by Robin Johnson

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
A nice pastime, October 3, 2020
Robin Johnson has a lot of quirky ideas, and within the severe limitations of the format of his game (see below) the writing is amusing, refreshing and down to the point. That should easily make forget that the setting of the game is pretty cliché.

Unfortunately the technical novelty of reducing a parser game to the most indispensable verbs and available objects leads to two problems: The solution to many puzzles is obvious when the necessary verb-object combination is suddenly highlighted (e.g. a beer usually has the options "drop" and "drink" with it, and when the right situation comes up an additional "give" option pops up), and not coming up with the correct solution immediately entices you to fall a dull simply-click-everything routine that many magazine editors criticize about P&C adventures. It doesn't exactly help that the entire text is kept in a Scott Adams telegraphic style which cuts off the feeling of exploring a game world's details.

As an interface experiment Draculaland is really cool. And it has its moments, see above. But in general, as a game I want to dive into it fails.


1-10 of 27 | Next | Show All