Reviews by Deboriole

View this member's profile

Show ratings only | both reviews and ratings
View this member's reviews by tag: adventure Artistic christian colossal Espionage Fairy tale gadgets innovative One room photopia Spells spy Xyzzy
Previous | 11-20 of 36 | Next | Show All


Final Selection, by Sam Gordon

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Fun with lots of puzzling, December 17, 2015
by Deboriole (San Diego, CA)

This is a clever game. Not only because of its puzzles, but because some of the puzzles are not needed.

There are a lot of items in this game and you need to examine every single one. I did a very good job of this and was able to figure out 95% of the game, but when I came to the end I found I was missing two key clues. Upon looking at a walkthrough (I started to re-examine things to try to figure out what I missed, but the sheer volume of objects was too daunting) I found that I could have easily found the two clues if I hadn't glossed over certain examinations.

What I liked: Even if I was in one corner of the room and I wanted to examine something but wasn't sure of its location, I could still "x object" and my character would go to its location and look at it. That was a huge time-saver. I also enjoyed the humor in the game. There wasn't a ton of it, but I did laugh out loud a few times.

What I didn't like: I found that I routinely figured things out before I stumbled upon its clue which got annoying after awhile because I felt like I wasn't making progress, I was uncovering clues for puzzles I had already solved. There were also a few bugs... the most jarring being that one puzzle can be solved without knowing the object you need exists. I found this out by accident when I was carrying something that had a similar name to the object I needed. When I tried to use the object in my inventory, my character went over to where the correct object was and used it to complete the puzzle (instead of telling me the object I was carrying didn't work). Ha! I guess I should count that as a win, but I felt robbed of that puzzle's solution.

Overall, I really enjoyed this game a lot! The puzzles made sense and it was rewarding.


Violet, by Jeremy Freese

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
Fun and clever game, October 5, 2011
by Deboriole (San Diego, CA)
Related reviews: One room

Initially I got frustrated by this game because I just wanted to explore the room and not worry about what Violet would think, or have the game end because she left me. But once I figured out all I had to do was 'write' once in awhile, I was able to explore to my heart's content. What really excited me about this game was the amazing expanse of commands. Anything that crossed my mind seemed to be achievable. To my further delight, many of the crazy solutions I came up with actually worked and helped me toward my goal. This is one of the best IF games I have played in awhile. The puzzles are great and I got totally immersed in the world.


Delightful Wallpaper, by Andrew Plotkin ('Edgar O. Weyrd')

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Round and round, October 1, 2011
by Deboriole (San Diego, CA)

Admittedly, at the beginning of this game, I wandered around in circles. I read my notes over and over and by the end of the game I knew my way around quite well. My only real gripe came in the second half. (Spoiler - click to show)two of the intentions - coral and crimson - were to be merely dropped, when all the others went into or onto something in particular. I found this to be annoying as I had the right place and recipient, yet could not figure out how to stage the crime. I had to look at the walkthrough.

Other than that, I really enjoyed the navigation puzzles and the 'poetry.'


The Game Formerly Known as Hidden Nazi Mode, by Victor Gijsbers

7 of 11 people found the following review helpful:
Bunnies!, September 26, 2011
by Deboriole (San Diego, CA)

I must admit, I played this game because of the cover art. What a cutie! Ironically, I gave this game the same rating as Fate (which was undoubtedly much more complicated to code and to play) because of the cute factor (although I did get to feed a carrot to a goat in that one).

I read Matt's dissertation after finishing (which took me longer than playing the game). Very impressive. I, on the other hand, did not look for any undertones. I just looked for cute, cuddly bunnies. In fact, I don't care if there even were any undertones. I got to hug bunnies.


All Things Devours, by half sick of shadows

1 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Logical - but just not for me., September 26, 2011
by Deboriole (San Diego, CA)

Note: This review has been edited after receiving comments. :)

I am always searching for games with purely logical puzzles, and came upon this one. I enjoyed this game for its "logical progression" style of play. I found it very fulfilling to put the pieces together within a finite time limit. However, I did not finish the game because I was expecting the rest of the game to rely on "real-life" solutions and it took a turn. A lot of other reviewers really enjoyed this twist in the game, but I did not.


African Adventure, by R. B. Fullerton and C. K. Russell

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
One of my favorites from childhood, September 24, 2011
by Deboriole (San Diego, CA)

I LOVED this game when I was a kid. I was shocked to find it averaged 1 measly star, so I was determined to get my hands on it to play again. I admit, the parser is extremely poor and as I play it now, I am struggling to find the acceptable syntax to progress in the game.

It is pretty unplayable, but I have so many fond memories that I am generously giving it two stars. What a shame because I remembered it as a fantastic adventure. If anyone else cares to play, I am including a mini-walkthrough for the first portion of the game below.

You can play online here: http://c64s.com/game/58/african_adventure/ although there is no way to save (so don't try, you will get stuck)!

(Spoiler - click to show)
-YOUR ROOM-
open closet
get boots
get knapsack
open knapsack
look
get matches
(if a native has thrown a spear at you)
get spear
enter bed
open book
read passage
drift


Some other tips:
(Spoiler - click to show)
1) If you let the mouse go, go back to where you originally found him; he will be there.
2) If you are carrying the spear, the natives will be hostile.
3) If you want to go back to your room, go back to the boat and it will let you go home.


Easter Egg Hunt, by Ian Thomson

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Didn't hold my interest, September 24, 2011
by Deboriole (San Diego, CA)
Related reviews: christian

I thought the description of this game looked pretty interesting - I mistook the title to mean a pagan treasure hunt through the forest. Upon playing I quickly realized that Easter Egg Hunt is a literal, Christian-themed hunt for eggs -- complete with a crucifix and a crown of thorns. There are a few characters in the game, but you do not have to persuade them to trade items with you. A simple "get object" will suffice and you can take (or give) all game items to any character. I admit I did not play the entire game because I managed to find more than half of the eggs simply sitting on the ground. It was not as much of a "hunt" as it was a collection process.

I read the walkthrough after I quit playing, and there is more depth to the game than I found, but I am still not tempted to go back and finish.


Alabaster, by John Cater, Rob Dubbin, Eric Eve, Elizabeth Heller, Jayzee, Kazuki Mishima, Sarah Morayati, Mark Musante, Emily Short, Adam Thornton, Ziv Wities

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Dark, complex tale, September 22, 2011
by Deboriole (San Diego, CA)

I didn't read reviews on this game before playing it so I expected an experience more like Bronze and less like Galatea - when in fact the reverse is true. As others have written, the majority of the game is asking questions and piecing together the back story. I didn't feel like trying to find all 18 endings because the plot is rather dark, and I managed to find a very nice ending on my third play, so I stopped there.

The story was not that appealing to me (It is somewhat of a gruesome tale and I prefer games with tangible puzzles rather than question-asking, anyway). I would give this story 3 stars but for the sheer impressiveness of number of authors, complex plot, and intricate dialog system.

One hint: You can shorten your inputs. For example, if the dialog prompts you with "You could ask about ..." just type "ASK" and it will assume you are talking about the prompted question. Similarly, "You could ask about X or Y" allows you to type "ASK X" and it will answer you as expected. Be careful of the words... for example, "I had a lot of schooling" would have to be "ask schooling" and not "ask school". Once you get the hang of it, you don't have to type as much as you might think!

My favorite pun: (Spoiler - click to show)"Lilith fair"est of them all. Ha!


Indigo, by Emily Short

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
I was excited for this game, September 22, 2011
by Deboriole (San Diego, CA)

I really, really enjoyed Bronze so I was looking forward to playing this one. I enjoyed the whimsy of this game, although the manner of using objects was definitely unique and I needed hints to figure out what I was supposed to do. Once it was clear what commands to use, I was able to finish the game in a matter of minutes.

There was one glitch that got me completely stuck, I had to restart to be able to finish the game.
(Spoiler - click to show)I attached the hour to the window (which is on the top floor). 50 turns later, I was meticulously searching the middle level when my candle went out. Ok, I thought, I will just get another hour and restore the candle. I tried "get hour" but could not, because the hour was still stuck to the window upstairs. I went to the top floor and was able to take the hour. The text said that the candle was whole again -- but when I went down to the kitchen to light it, there was just a stub left. I was caught in a situation where my hour was on one floor and my fire source was on another floor!
I am sure I am the only person who would ever get in such a situation, but I guess that makes me a good beta tester? :)


Shade, by Andrew Plotkin

2 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
No second chances, September 22, 2011
by Deboriole (San Diego, CA)

I enjoyed this game to a point. That point came when I became completely stuck and had to look at a walkthrough. Turns out I missed one opportunity and therefore could never solve the game. There was no indication that I was hopelessly stuck, so I rambled about for an hour until finally throwing in the towel. That did not make me very happy! There could be a simple solution to this...

(Spoiler - click to show)I really wish the helicopter would have come around again... I failed to look out the window in the two turns I had, and was not able to finish the game as a result.



Previous | 11-20 of 36 | Next | Show All