Open Sorcery

by Abigail Corfman

Science Fiction
2016

Web Site

Return to the game's main page

Reviews and Ratings

5 star:
(40)
4 star:
(10)
3 star:
(2)
2 star:
(1)
1 star:
(2)
Average Rating:
Number of Ratings: 55
Write a review


Previous | << 1 2 3 >> | Next | Show All


- taako, March 20, 2017

- Kaesa, February 28, 2017

- Mona Mae (South Africa), February 10, 2017

- kntwriter, January 19, 2017

- ArchDelacy, January 15, 2017

Creative concept and wonderfully done, January 12, 2017

Very well done: interesting world mechanics and interactions, choices that feel like they matter, and an interface that felt natural for the premise. It left me wanting more, which unfortunately I'm apparently not going to be able to get without a smartphone for the expanded version. I liked how the earlier parts of the game familiarized you enough with the mechanics to make the later challenges seem accessible while keeping them high-pressure. I feel like the progression worked quite well, and it ended up having a surprising emotional impact for such a short game.


- IFforL2 (Chiayi, Taiwan), December 23, 2016

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Stupendous use of Twine, very engaging!, December 22, 2016
by Hanon Ondricek (United States)

I'm late to the party on this one, as I've heard spectacular reviews, and first encountered Corfman's clever ...Ways to Kill a Vampire in IFComp.

This narrative is even better, weaving cyberpunk, horror, some incredibly moving scenes expressed very simply, and a quest arc that involves gathering powers that can be used in the finale.

It has a bit of a Choice of Games feel, where you gather stats to funnel into the correct ending, but this felt a bit more immediate and engaging with just enough formatting and multimedia glitz that does not come off as excessive or superfluous.

The finale is timed and that gives a sense of terrified urgency, but I didn't feel like the time limit was imposed to make me click faster. (Spoiler - click to show)My playthrough ended unsuccessfully, but I think that was more a matter of I hadn't learned enough during the buildup, and became more of "what else can I try?" instead of "I don't have enough time to do this." Cleverly, the game foreshadows this with a smaller timed sequence earlier on. Seeing as I lost, the game gave me the satisfying option of hurling myself at the boss in a redemptive (although sadly unsuccessful) kamikaze effort.

The timed finale feels very earned and satisfying, even on a fail, and I am actually planning to try this again soon. The game remembers your progress via a browser cookie and doesn't make you start completely over which is a huge plus.

Great game. Should be attempted by everyone who wonders how to create a Twine that actually has legitimate gaming elements.


- Aeris, November 7, 2016

- JcmMike, September 20, 2016

- Denk, September 18, 2016

- hoopla, September 17, 2016

- Callithumpian, September 17, 2016

- Novbert, September 14, 2016

- Sobol (Russia), August 28, 2016

- gugushic, August 25, 2016

- Jenie, August 18, 2016

- dastridly, August 9, 2016

- Herman van Wietmarschen (Driebergen, the Netherlands), August 5, 2016

- TheAncientOne, July 28, 2016

- revereche, July 17, 2016

- Dhary, May 20, 2016

- necromancer, May 20, 2016

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful:
Outstanding fantasy/sci fi blend. Lengthy illustrated twine game., May 16, 2016
by MathBrush
Related reviews: about 1 hour

This game plays out over the course of several days in-game, perhaps a week. It is quite large, on the order of size of Twine games like Birdland, but feels a bit smaller than Spy Intrigue. I have played it once, but it seems to have high replay value.

The visuals on this game are gorgeous, especially when sleeping. The font, letter spacing, and color choices give a DOS type feel. The game is sprinkled with occasional images and animation.

You play a living firewall, an elemental charged with protecting a magic/tech network with 4 locations.

You are presented with a sequence of mysteries, one a day, which you use clues to solve. You can then deal with the mystery in many ways, raising and lowering various stats a la choice of games.

The game includes several times sequences, some violence and some sexual activity.

My only quibble is about one image, and it's a tiny issue: (Spoiler - click to show)I didn't like the illustration of the main antagonist, I thought it was cheesy.<\spoiler>


- Aselia, May 12, 2016


Previous | << 1 2 3 >> | Next | Show All | Return to game's main page