Reviews by Harry Coburn

View this member's profile

Show ratings only | both reviews and ratings
View this member's reviews by tag: absurd AIF games one-room shareware demo incomplete Speed-IF
1-10 of 18 | Next | Show All


69,105 Keys, by David Welbourn

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
As it says on the tin, August 25, 2019
by Harry Coburn (Atlanta, GA)
Related reviews: one-room

A one-room puzzle with a single puzzle, but a rather interesting one. I liked the mechanic. Took less time to solve than I thought it would when I got into it.


Food Magic, by Paul Hughes, Caolan Madden, Rory Madden, Laura Hughes, and (with a little help from) Carl Muckenhoupt

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
A silly and violent game, August 25, 2019
by Harry Coburn (Atlanta, GA)
Related reviews: Speed-IF

It's a two-hour Speed-IF, so I don't expect huge amounts of implementation. A few brief puzzles and some unexpectedly violent actions necessary to win.


Captain Connie's Ejactor Seat, by Andrew Watt

0 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Complete, but could be much better., June 18, 2018
by Harry Coburn (Atlanta, GA)
Related reviews: AIF games

This game was written for a game jam where the themes were space and sex. It lasts for about 10-20 minutes and is thoroughly pornographic and outside the mainstream to say the least. Tucking the rest of the review behind a spoiler tag for propriety.

(Spoiler - click to show)This is my first play of a pornographic game in Twine. The blurb of the game pretty much explains the story. A murderously sadistic female captain has been sexually assaulting her crew and killing those who orgasm. The PC, a female geologist, is the last remaining crew member and is forced to play her game.

The game is rather linear and the choices are obvious when they are an actual choice, orgasm or not. So the story is purely a masturbation vehicle for those who like orgasm denial stories with a (potential) side of snuff. That right there will probably make this game a no-go for most players.

Is it good? I thought the intro was the best bit. There was a strong sense of danger. At the start, I thought I would escape the Captain and then have to run through the ship to find a way to stop her.

I have to cut the game some slack because it was made for a time-limited game jam but the quality for me declined as the game progressed. It is a complete scenario, but good sex is really hard to write and, personally, this theme is not to my taste. I don't know how amenable IFDB is to putting erotica description tags on games to help people know the content before playing.

But I do have to applaud the use of Twine. Twine avoids a lot of the problems of parser-based AIF. Getting into that, however, would blow up this review even more than it already is.


Lime Ergot, by Caleb Wilson (as Rust Blight)

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
Excellent SpeedIF that plays with parser conventions, June 15, 2018
by Harry Coburn (Atlanta, GA)

SpeedIF is an interesting beast. Most have an interesting idea at their core but poor execution due to the time constraints. But then a lime-green gem like this comes along that feels coherent and complete. I rather enjoyed this game. Found two endings.


Cheer Up, by Sam Thursfield

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
SpeedIF about a captured fish, June 15, 2018
by Harry Coburn (Atlanta, GA)

SpeedIF, so expect the usual problems of default parser messages and limited implementation. You're a fish that gets captured and has to escape from a fish and chips shop. Unfortunately, I was unable to finish it. Descended into guess-the-verb for me.


SquirrelSimulator3000, by KittyEden

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Simple and surreal inside joke game, June 15, 2018
by Harry Coburn (Atlanta, GA)

Very simple twine game about a podcaster getting forced to fight a squirrel. Multiple endings. Lots of profanity and senseless mayhem. Good for a giggle, but I wonder if there are inside jokes tucked away in here if I knew anything about the Tanis podcast.


Ecdysis, by Peter Nepstad

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
I wish for more implementation, August 14, 2015
by Harry Coburn (Atlanta, GA)

The core premise of Ecdysis is sound. It is tight Lovecraftian horror. However, it needs more implementation throughout to flesh it out. Too little implementation makes a game feel like a railroad or a visual novel.

In fact, this type of tight fiction would be great in Twine, although the important verb in the game would be a little bit tricky to implement.


Abusive Relationship Simulator, by porree

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Not a game, but delivers the point, July 26, 2015
by Harry Coburn (Atlanta, GA)

Having been in an emotionally abusive relationship, albeit with the genders switched than this game, it delivers the point well. Not really a game, but not really meant to be.


Cards Against Buzzfeed, by Soda51

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Not IF, but a neat way to use Twine, May 21, 2015
by Harry Coburn (Atlanta, GA)

Cards Against Buzzfeed uses Twine to generate random clickbait headlines that are used in a Cards Against Humanity-like game. It's not IF in the standard senses of the term, but I think with the right crowd this is an interesting party game.


The Northnorth Passage., by Caleb Wilson (as Snowball Ice)

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Interesting premise, January 18, 2015
by Harry Coburn (Atlanta, GA)

I enjoyed the tension in the game, which seems strange for a game where if you do anything except go north you'll activate the family curse. Each section has a wealth of things that a normal IF player would be dying to examine and play with, but you cannot. It's a short "game" and worth the few minutes.

Apparently there is a point you can score too, but I'm not sure if you can or not.



1-10 of 18 | Next | Show All