Ratings and Reviews by Deboriole

View this member's profile

Show reviews only | ratings only
View this member's reviews by tag: adventure Artistic christian colossal Espionage Fairy tale gadgets innovative One room photopia Spells spy Xyzzy
Previous | 11-20 of 39 | Next | Show All


Nautilisia, by Ryan Veeder

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
Funny, finny, and fun!, January 11, 2016
by Deboriole (San Diego, CA)

If you are looking for a quick, silly game, this is it! There is great humor throughout, and the game doesn't take itself seriously. The one downfall is that it's a "hand-holder" game and thus very easy to complete. If things were a little less conspicuous it might have led to a greater challenge. For example: (Spoiler - click to show)the jungle scene with the blatant dangling vine could have been more puzzly if you had to examine the jungle in order to spot the vine. Still, I enjoyed the narrative so much that the game was still very fulfilling despite its lack of puzzliness. I am still chuckling over some of the dialogue. I am going to check out some other Ryan V games now!


Hard Puzzle 3 : Origins, by Ade McT
A little dark for my taste, but..., January 9, 2016
by Deboriole (San Diego, CA)

I have been obsessed with this series since the first Hard Puzzle came out. I have to say that the atmosphere of this installment is a little dark for my taste, but the solution makes sense (or as much sense as is possible in a surreal game like this!) just like the two games before it. Aside from the monstrous atmosphere (which I did not care for), this game was very satisfying to puzzle over and solve. Thanks Ade McT!


Hard Puzzle, by Ade McT

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
That was unexpected..., January 1, 2016
by Deboriole (San Diego, CA)

I have been obsessed with beating this game since it came out. I opened the game this morning (not expecting to get anywhere with it), and after a bit of tinkering I tried something I hadn't tried before and was stunned when a paragraph of text appeared followed by *** The End ***.

I can't decide if I think the solution is clever so I will leave the review centered at 3 stars to be as impartial as possible. Good luck to all of you who still have yet to solve it.


Final Selection, by Sam Gordon

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Fun with lots of puzzling, December 17, 2015
by Deboriole (San Diego, CA)

This is a clever game. Not only because of its puzzles, but because some of the puzzles are not needed.

There are a lot of items in this game and you need to examine every single one. I did a very good job of this and was able to figure out 95% of the game, but when I came to the end I found I was missing two key clues. Upon looking at a walkthrough (I started to re-examine things to try to figure out what I missed, but the sheer volume of objects was too daunting) I found that I could have easily found the two clues if I hadn't glossed over certain examinations.

What I liked: Even if I was in one corner of the room and I wanted to examine something but wasn't sure of its location, I could still "x object" and my character would go to its location and look at it. That was a huge time-saver. I also enjoyed the humor in the game. There wasn't a ton of it, but I did laugh out loud a few times.

What I didn't like: I found that I routinely figured things out before I stumbled upon its clue which got annoying after awhile because I felt like I wasn't making progress, I was uncovering clues for puzzles I had already solved. There were also a few bugs... the most jarring being that one puzzle can be solved without knowing the object you need exists. I found this out by accident when I was carrying something that had a similar name to the object I needed. When I tried to use the object in my inventory, my character went over to where the correct object was and used it to complete the puzzle (instead of telling me the object I was carrying didn't work). Ha! I guess I should count that as a win, but I felt robbed of that puzzle's solution.

Overall, I really enjoyed this game a lot! The puzzles made sense and it was rewarding.


Violet, by Jeremy Freese

6 of 8 people found the following review helpful:
Fun and clever game, October 5, 2011
by Deboriole (San Diego, CA)
Related reviews: One room

Initially I got frustrated by this game because I just wanted to explore the room and not worry about what Violet would think, or have the game end because she left me. But once I figured out all I had to do was 'write' once in awhile, I was able to explore to my heart's content. What really excited me about this game was the amazing expanse of commands. Anything that crossed my mind seemed to be achievable. To my further delight, many of the crazy solutions I came up with actually worked and helped me toward my goal. This is one of the best IF games I have played in awhile. The puzzles are great and I got totally immersed in the world.


Delightful Wallpaper, by Andrew Plotkin ('Edgar O. Weyrd')

1 of 5 people found the following review helpful:
Round and round, October 1, 2011
by Deboriole (San Diego, CA)

Admittedly, at the beginning of this game, I wandered around in circles. I read my notes over and over and by the end of the game I knew my way around quite well. My only real gripe came in the second half. (Spoiler - click to show)two of the intentions - coral and crimson - were to be merely dropped, when all the others went into or onto something in particular. I found this to be annoying as I had the right place and recipient, yet could not figure out how to stage the crime. I had to look at the walkthrough.

Other than that, I really enjoyed the navigation puzzles and the 'poetry.'


The Game Formerly Known as Hidden Nazi Mode, by Victor Gijsbers

7 of 11 people found the following review helpful:
Bunnies!, September 26, 2011
by Deboriole (San Diego, CA)

I must admit, I played this game because of the cover art. What a cutie! Ironically, I gave this game the same rating as Fate (which was undoubtedly much more complicated to code and to play) because of the cute factor (although I did get to feed a carrot to a goat in that one).

I read Matt's dissertation after finishing (which took me longer than playing the game). Very impressive. I, on the other hand, did not look for any undertones. I just looked for cute, cuddly bunnies. In fact, I don't care if there even were any undertones. I got to hug bunnies.


All Things Devours, by half sick of shadows

1 of 6 people found the following review helpful:
Logical - but just not for me., September 26, 2011
by Deboriole (San Diego, CA)

Note: This review has been edited after receiving comments. :)

I am always searching for games with purely logical puzzles, and came upon this one. I enjoyed this game for its "logical progression" style of play. I found it very fulfilling to put the pieces together within a finite time limit. However, I did not finish the game because I was expecting the rest of the game to rely on "real-life" solutions and it took a turn. A lot of other reviewers really enjoyed this twist in the game, but I did not.


African Adventure, by R. B. Fullerton and C. K. Russell

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful:
One of my favorites from childhood, September 24, 2011
by Deboriole (San Diego, CA)

I LOVED this game when I was a kid. I was shocked to find it averaged 1 measly star, so I was determined to get my hands on it to play again. I admit, the parser is extremely poor and as I play it now, I am struggling to find the acceptable syntax to progress in the game.

It is pretty unplayable, but I have so many fond memories that I am generously giving it two stars. What a shame because I remembered it as a fantastic adventure. If anyone else cares to play, I am including a mini-walkthrough for the first portion of the game below.

You can play online here: http://c64s.com/game/58/african_adventure/ although there is no way to save (so don't try, you will get stuck)!

(Spoiler - click to show)
-YOUR ROOM-
open closet
get boots
get knapsack
open knapsack
look
get matches
(if a native has thrown a spear at you)
get spear
enter bed
open book
read passage
drift


Some other tips:
(Spoiler - click to show)
1) If you let the mouse go, go back to where you originally found him; he will be there.
2) If you are carrying the spear, the natives will be hostile.
3) If you want to go back to your room, go back to the boat and it will let you go home.


Easter Egg Hunt, by Ian Thomson

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful:
Didn't hold my interest, September 24, 2011
by Deboriole (San Diego, CA)
Related reviews: christian

I thought the description of this game looked pretty interesting - I mistook the title to mean a pagan treasure hunt through the forest. Upon playing I quickly realized that Easter Egg Hunt is a literal, Christian-themed hunt for eggs -- complete with a crucifix and a crown of thorns. There are a few characters in the game, but you do not have to persuade them to trade items with you. A simple "get object" will suffice and you can take (or give) all game items to any character. I admit I did not play the entire game because I managed to find more than half of the eggs simply sitting on the ground. It was not as much of a "hunt" as it was a collection process.

I read the walkthrough after I quit playing, and there is more depth to the game than I found, but I am still not tempted to go back and finish.



Previous | 11-20 of 39 | Next | Show All