The ultimate not numbered New Year's Speed IF


(Yes, I do realize it has become more of a Minicomp. Deal with it.)

For those unfamiliar with this, the motivation behind it is to offer people a chance at writing a small work of IF at the end of the year. Traditionally, the rules have been very loosely defined. This year, we shun our humble Speed-IF origins even more and offer these two variants:

1) Take an example, any example from the I7 Documentation and expand it into a fullblown game. This has Emily's explicit permission. (The idea was proposed by Juhana Leinonen).

2) Write whatever game you like, in any system you like. (Take note of the CF announcement below).

Any approach that lies between the two is also okay.

If you're thinking "So am I allowed to..." the answer is „yes“.

(copied from

News & updates (RSS)


Series: Annual New Year's Minicomp

Organizer(s): profile Marius Müller

Qualification opening date: December 1, 2012

Qualification closing date: January 3, 2013

Games and Awards

Entrant: Emma II, by David Fletcher
Entrant: Short of Sushi, by Paul Stanley
Entrant: Disenchantment Bay, by Jacqueline A Lott (with a head start from Emily Short)
Entrant: The Day I died, by Marius Müller
Entrant: Ex Nihilo, by Juhana Leinonen

This is version 6 of this page, edited by JTN on 13 February 2024 at 10:35 PM. - View Update History - Edit This Page - Add a News Item